December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Enemy

by CogentInvalid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: To play on Linux, download LOVE (love2d.org) and open the source (The Enemy.love) with it.
NOTE:NOTE: Actually, this runs on LOVE 0.8.0, and the current version is 0.9.0, so in order to run the source with Linux you'll have to track down the previous version, which might be more trouble than it's worth.

In this game, you only get one enemy, so you have to protect it. If you allowed such a defenseless (if malicious) creature, the last of its kind, to die, how could you live with yourself? You couldn't. Don't even pretend that you could. So now you have to guide it through this treacherous ocean environment, keeping it from impaling itself on the scenery, all while it tries to kill you. Good luck.

Press enter to start, pause, or unpause the game
WASD or arrow keys to move
Hold left shift to sprint
Press space to emit a shockwave, knocking the enemy back

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#414Overall3.11
#475Innovation2.95
#477Audio2.56
#544Graphics2.84
#557Fun2.78
#597Theme2.68
#699Mood2.47
#1329Coolness37%

Comments

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28am

Cool concept, 'tis a nice arcadey-type game. I liked it!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:37am

Nice It had a nice art style to it too.

leafo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:05am

cool game idea, I like the music a lot

ezolotko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:53pm

This is cool

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:41am

Nice game you have! I really like the health bar system. Unique!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:20am

Nice litle game. I like how you animated the water. Nice Idea!

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Haha, on my first play through I (naturally) didn't read the instructions properly so was attempting to make the enemy hit the mines. Turns out this tactic made him last longer than when I tried to help him avoid them :S

Regardless, love the animation, movement and feel to this one.

Mutt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:30am

Really cool art style, very unique, and so simple. I like the way everything was outlines. The gameplay's also pretty unique. Good out of the box thinking.

Monoquartz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Pretty enjoyable game. I like the concept and the graphics and audio are fine.

01rafael says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:20am

Let the enemy die! ))

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:33am

Cool game, I like the style of the graphics very much !

Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Really nice game, I love the music!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]