December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Follow The Leader

by McDonaldsWizard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Follow The Leader. The Leader is love. Love of the Leader is the only thing that matters. Follow Leader. Do not question Leader.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#65Humor3.63
#221Fun3.31
#282Mood3.10
#399Graphics3.11
#522Innovation2.88
#779Overall2.65
#835Theme2.24
#965Coolness49%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:56am

I don't know if there is a point to this game and I don't care. Lots of potential. PRAISE TO LEADER.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:28pm

The violence, like magnets, it is magical!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:34am

You should host the game on a flash website, so people don't have to download it to play.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:41am

I really should. I'm a bad person. haha.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:41am

:(

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:48am

I also suggest hosting this somewhere so people don't have to download. Really interesting theme and mor people should check you out.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:49am

I don't know how this fits the theme but I don't care. I brutally enjoyed blasting those poor creatures and reading his comments. It put a smile on my face, thanks for the game!

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:55am

One of those peons dared to defy me!

I don't know whether it was a bug or willful disobedience, but believe me he was dealt with... although some innocents may have suffered in the process.

Regarding your game, I heard it cry out silently for excellent hilarious sound, but that's quite an ask.

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:35am

I'm Leader's torch!

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:55am

I can dig it.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:53am

Thanks for playing guys. The feedback has been really helpful so far.

I definitely wish I had added sound. When i got down to the last two hours I picked adding the crispy burnt graphic on the fire guys and more bloody gibs instead. I'm pretty sure I'm gonna add that sound though. It really needs it. I'm gonna add some more 'tools' to spread leader's love in the future.

burlapjack says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:52am

Thank you. I really needed to blow off some steam after work lol.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:54am

Pretty fun game! I disturbingly really enjoyed killing the people. :D

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:57am

I've loved this. Violence rules :P
Great job!

If you have time please rate my game! I would really appreciate it! :) (Mine is about violence too but against explosive penguins :P)

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:15am

Fun toy. Not sure about the theme or gameplay. But it is fun to burn my followers with giant pixel fire.

Phyyl says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:18am

Nice little game, needs a goal tho! great job keep it on!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:57am

I did a little more work on this game tonight. I'm trying to tidy up a few bugs and little bits of interaction wonkiness before i move on to new features and sound.

They aren't going into the build that's up here because I'm not sure they qualify under the bug fix rules.
-meteors block mouse input
-speech bubbles block mouse input
-dead followers block input
-fixed a null error caused by a missing graphic(it was masked in the submission by a try catch :), because quality engineering )
-on fire guys can now fall both left and right when they die
-you can't get upside down meteors. did anyone even see that? it was nuts.
-prevented some cases where you weren't supposed to pick up followers and then cause it to play wrong animations or get stuck in a loop.

Whats left that I know about
-sometimes the blood and guts gibs/particles don't stop spawning
-sometimes the followers just stop moving and don't start again, in the mean time you get them to move around again if you apply some love from leader (in the form of a meteor)

Thanks for playing!

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:26pm

WEIRD experience - really liked this!

Super Hamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:57am

Pretty funny and temporarily fun but once I killed everyone I was so sad. I wish there was something to do afterwards. The artwork was nice and it was fun to kill them. The concept was there, it was just missing the actual game part to it. I had fun though so good job! :D

01rafael says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:22am

Super great! I was so happy to play this game )))

kevinmylo says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:17pm

I didn't like it at all. Felt a tad uncomfortable. But that's just me.

Several says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:32pm

I am kind of tired of godlike murder toys, but it was nice to see their fawning thoughts. It'd be nice to see them do more to celebrate the leader--maybe recite "poems" or "dance" or make a mud-totem in honor of the leader.

If you wanted to add a little more "play" time to the system, you could add zombification of corpses, and/or a cupid arrow that makes folk eject a wee one and bleed out eventually from the puncture wound(s).

It'd also help if corpses didn't prevent you from clicking on the people behind them. I think you might be able to set mouseEnabled to false for those, if you're using Sprites or MovieClips (and I remember Flash right).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]