December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGOSWAG

by Super Hamster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get 1 swag. Sell your swag to buy a kid. He'll get you more swag. Continue selling you swag for money so you can buy more things. Also, the value of swag goes up and down so be careful with you swag and money. Enjoy over 20 different news headlines and all the swag you can get. Requires Java and works for all platforms. Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Humor3.29
#424Fun2.96
#659Mood2.53
#728Theme2.46
#821Innovation2.35
#898Overall2.46
#952Graphics1.85
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

Cbeed says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Downloadlink broken. Also which platform is this?

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Link broke. :(

dooglz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Link is down

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:57pm

It's not down anymore. I played it.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:04am

These games are very addictive, I shouldn't spend to much time playing this :P

minibutmany says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:11am

SUPA FUN

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:17am

Hehe nice game, cookies clicker style, funny idea

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:32am

cute concept, though doesn't seem like much of a game: seems like you just wait and get money/swag, there's no challange

kbake says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:50am

I played this a lot longer than I anticipated! Formatting the numbers might have helped make things a little more clean, but it was pretty impressive considering the time limit. Good stuff!

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:58am

Very cookie-clicker like! I like it! It can be really addictive.

Cbeed says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:22am

You should have sorted the GUI a bit more, format the numbers because that's the important thing in your game. It also would be easier to read if the text was on some sort of one colored background.
The changes on the swag price were to low to have a real impact on the game. It would be nice if you had to take a look on the price all the time to sell at the right moment but the changes were too small and could not really predicted.
All in all the game was only "meh".

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Took me a while to give up my 1 swag at the start :( Swag don't come cheap unless you got kid.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Fun and kinda strange, just the way I like it!

Thalikoth says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Pretty funny game. The 'Swag is off the charts' message is a nice touch! :)

Cbeed says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Hey, I added some notes how to run my game if it fails. Maybe want to try again?

atombrot says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:11pm

I'm playing this already longer than I'd like to admit XD it looks kind of trashy, but the game mechanics are very addictive... "The swag price is through the roof" XD

Espyo says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:33pm

It's neat, but it's very clearly based on Cookie Clicker, to the point where it doesn't really go beyond that. The graphics are pretty YOLOtastic, but I wish the font wasn't just an aliased Arial.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Strange but ha loved it.

Croze says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Link is working; I like it, felt like Cookie Clicker, not bad.

Moosefly says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:54am

I sold my first swag for under 4$. Game over. GG.

Like others have mentioned, the GUI could be a lot clearer, but the core idea is really addicting (already proven by Cookie Clicker and similar games too). I also LOVE the fluctuating swag price, it makes the game that much more interesting (especially in the beginning).

Not the most original game out there, but still lots of fun, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]