December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

My Old Kentucky Home

by emmelineprufrock - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A long Twine game about scarcity and isolation in a future Eastern Kentucky. The game features original covers of traditional songs, and is probably played best the way it was written: in a dark room with a set of headphones.

The music might not work in all browsers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#27Mood3.90
#115Audio3.36
#326Overall3.22
#534Fun2.82
#683Theme2.55
#694Innovation2.59
#975Graphics1.58

Comments

spike_xp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15am

Didn't quite catch the theme, but this is an intriguing story :D Really love the story and how it branches!

ming_tea says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29am

Very well written and great atmosphere!

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42am

Pretty damn cool, love it! And re: the theme, it's her, right? She's the one, alone and on her own, the only person around (for the most part)

BoppreH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

Frisson when the music started and "she hit him again". I too didn't catch the theme (one chance? rapture?), but the mood was great, the text well written and the mechanics used wisely.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:48am

Beautiful. Seriously gave me chills.

delfino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02am

Excellent writing, it does the job of getting an emotional reaction. The visuals are simple but help set the mood. The songs are great. No real 'humor' but that's obviously not the point of this entry. Great job overall!

benedict says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05am

I liked this. It's not particularly strongly tied to the theme, but it works. There was some nice branching. The arc of the story felt a little stilted, but the world it built was very nice. The singing caught me off guard but I loved it.

Bogden says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58am

Well written.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:11am

Good story, gets across the feeling of isolation well, and you make good use of the Twine medium (hit him again and again). The songs are also amazing! Great job overall!

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Nice feeling and atmosphere.. I like these Twine games that's slice of life focused!

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Great story, very well written. The music was a really nice touch.

chardish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Chilling stuff, and one of the better Twine games I've played. Good writing, good use of the medium and a consistent way of delivering mechanics that makes it clear when you're taking an action and when you're just learning more information. Amazing work.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:51am

Great writing, but I don't quite get the theme

Integershift says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:59am

I didn't see the theme in that. Maybe it was you only get one story? I don't really know. It was fun reading though!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:01am

Nice story, good job.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:07am

The writing and the medium itself set a very good mood for the game. Keeping information from the player also encourages the imagination to fill in the blanks and become more invested in the character and her struggles. Well done.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:11am

Good description. Really set the mood.

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:18am

I really enjoyed the extra bits of writing you could look at that gave the text extra flavor.

kewry says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Great atmosphere! nice story!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51pm

the songs are really beautiful, the set the tone perfectly. and like chardish said, your use of Twine is very good.

the writing was perhaps a little on the slow part sometimes, but i liked it.

finefin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:13pm

the music didn't work in my browser (firefox) - nonetheless this was a great interactive story! nice work!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:03pm

@finefin hmmm, the macro was supposed to work in firefox, so I'm not sure what's up with that -- but I didn't play test there, so it might be something up on my end. I know for sure it said that it probably wouldn't work on Safari and Opera.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Very nice writing! The way you use the mechanics/interface of Twine to drive home the brutal nature of the events in the Kitchen is wonderful and haunting!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:47am

It's well written, but uh, how does it use the theme again? :\

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:41pm

@Diptoman the theme is probably one of the weakest aspects, I'll admit. The hard part, for me, was integrating the theme without making it obnoxious or just including it as a line of dialogue (which I thought about doing).

There are a couple of ways it could be related to the theme. I took the idea of "You Only Get One," and focused more on the "One" aspect -- she is the only one left, for example. She only has one bullet. She has a strong sense of isolation and scarcity -- the concept of limited resources that I feel is present in "You Only Get One." It's probably more tangential, but I do think there is a connection to the theme.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:43pm

i love that you wrote that story, its really spooky and compelled me to read more. the music really caught me off guard at the end. great mood building.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I was just about to write "Man, you've written a lot for two days" when I've realized you are a woman. In an instant it makes sense the protagonist to be female too.
You're very good at setting the right mood.
I see no problem with theme - "You only get one - home!"
Respect for making a text based game, which won't appeal to the mass. Was that you singing the songs?

Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:39pm

@Denis Chakarov yes, that's me singing. I needed the accent and it had to be a woman. No one else in my dev group fit the bill. :)

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:56am

The combination of text and song is amazing. You're right, the shaky quality of the recording does really add to the sense of insecurity you feel for the protagonist. I must add you do have a lovely voice. The story is well written... Glad I stumbled past your postmortem. Thank you!

drkrunk says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:59am

That was pretty well-done, the writing was fantastic and the atmosphere was perfect. Great job!

Strangelander says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Audio worked in Chrome and Firefox for me, OS X. Maybe it's just me, but it's annoying to listen to lyrics and read text at the same time. Probably one verse of Amazing Grace would have sufficed.

Your writing is solid, very minimal, yet evocative. I would like to see it cleaned up and developed into a longer story. Reminded me a bit of *The Reapers Are the Angels* by Alden Bell, for setting and protagonist (check it out if you haven't read it).

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:54pm

The story was good, and well written, apart from a couple of contradictory instances (like when we're in the mine, if we click on the description text, it says that she never "home", it said that she still wouldn't light a fire here, and then suddenly she wants a warm dinner).

Other than that I enjoyed it. Would like to know more about the thing that had happened. Or is it that i missed some branch where that is explained?

Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Very well-written, with a lot of realistic detail. Very nice use of music. On the downside, the story has been done before, and the plot is very slow-moving at the start. Those are minor nitpicks, though.

I might play again later to see if I can get a different path.

A couple of typoes: "remnats"; "prys" should be "pries"; "her Mamaws" needs an apostrophe. Also, the title of the game is spelled "Olde" in-game, but not on this page.

dekart says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Good story.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:05pm

@Arkrothe There's references to people she has lost, but there's no specific explanation of what "happened." I wanted to leave that up to the imagination, and I also felt like she didn't know -- so including it would've been outside the scope of her knowledge.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Windows Firefox audio works. Was nice to read and play, but ended apruptly after the incident, maybe i didn't get it all, skimming through the text..

stigmawall says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:00pm

I like your story, it's tense and you singing is lovely! Congrats!

tompudding says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Very atmospheric writing, nice job. Not a great deal of choice, but the mood more than made up for it. Songs were perfect.

GaTechGrad says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:45am

Nice text-based game. Those Spaghetti-Os were delicious!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]