December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get 1UP

by Thein - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You Only Get 1UP is a simple platformer with a slight twist. In an alternate universe, God is fed up with the human race. Unfortunately, he declared at the beginning of the universe that 100 coins would give you a new life. So, he decided to punish all those who dare collect 100 coins. Can you reach the top and save human kind? Thanks for playing!

Controls:
WASD, arrow keys, or controller.

Made in Unity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#18Fun3.91
#21Humor3.98
#52Overall3.79
#64Theme3.78
#119Innovation3.59
#137Audio3.30
#198Mood3.27
#291Graphics3.33

Comments

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:58am

Funny game! I like the sketchy graphics and silly plot. It is quite difficult and a nice little challenge.

Phil River says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

Holy cow! I didn't read the description and just after collecting two coins two times I got it! Hahahhahha! Awesome submission!

Conflei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:03am

Hahahahsahsa so funny, i like the turtles.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:03am

Simple platformer with a twist pulled off well. Sound is good.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:03am

Love the graphics, love the music, LOVE the twist of classic Mario gameplay, and the humor works. Challenging, but keeps you coming back for more! My favorite game I've rated so far!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04am

This is absolutely amazing, and everything a game jam game should be. Fantastic design and a blast to play. Graphics fall in that "perfectly imperfect" zone.

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:06am

Spiffy game with a nice sense of humor.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:07am

Looks great, incredibly difficult, and a little unfair at time. But it still got a few play throughs out of me, so must of been doing something right.

evilDan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09am

Freakin' AWESOME!!!

LOVE love love this game! You took the Pavlovian urge to get the 1up and flipped it inside out.

Very nice work my friend - very nice work :D

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:13am

Thank you all for the comments! I really appreciate the kind words. I'm so happy you enjoy it!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22am

Lol very nice twist to Mario, loved it.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:30am

Brutally difficult, fun premise.

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:37am

Interesting idea. My natural instinct was to collect coins, so some times I'd just go for them when I was playing without thinking! Very interesting to see how players can unlearn something so simple as collecting a coin in order to be able to progress. Good job!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:00am

This was very funny, it had a bit of thought go into it.

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33pm

I see what you did there! Inverting enemies with coins is a nice touch on the humor. Graphics are funny, too.

Monoquartz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:43pm

xDDD Pretty nice, I love the death animation. When i see it for the first time i fell off my seat !

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:02am

A cool inversion of Mario, I like it! Graphics were nice, some solid bible quoting and enjoyed seeing the ways you turned coins into hazards. Good job.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:05am

1Down!!!! (Very funny, good work.)

errorage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07am

Sooooo cooounter intuitiiiveee :) Having to avoid coins just feels wrong deep down inside :) Next up they'll be saying we have to avoid jewels! :)

blasmena says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:17am

funny as hell!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:48am

ok, this is hilarious, and crazy difficult. I've been pavlov'd into collecting coins and hitting blocks and such fort so long... i'm not certain I can ever stop. x.x great work!

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:02am

This game is amazing! The fist of God makes me laugh every time. The humor is great, but unlike many funny games the controls are really good too. The double jump is very cool! Well done!

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:34am

very funny game! took some "fists of god" to understand what I'm supposed to do :D

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Hilarious take on the theme, the turtles look awesome. ^_^

Super Hamster says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Oh my god that was annoying! No, I'm joking, I raged in the good kind of way where you continue to play. I thought the art was funny and at first I was like, alright, this can't be too bad. And then as soon as I saw moving coins I'm just like oh my god.... This is going to be evil. I never managed to beat it but I got past the point where you have to jump on a turtle to continue. I noticed there were a few glitches like still "flying" even though you were on a block, and if you walk on a turtle you die. Anyways, overall, interesting game!

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:54am

great twist, the big foot is awesome, nice work!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:24am

I love how it plays against expectations. Really cool.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:57am

AWESOME!

lorniebear says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:36pm

tjhis is very fun but it could be improved by ONLY GETTING ONE UP!!!
A great idea, and I found it very fun. The 'only getting one' theme could have been emphasized further

lorniebear says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:36pm

A great idea, and I found it very fun. The 'only getting one' theme could have been emphasized further

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Nice job

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Ha ha, I really liked what you did there, taking a platform and inverting the rules. Great little game.

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Fantastic! Turtles are awesome, the gameplay twist feels just right! Bravo!

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:09am

This is a neat concept. It's brutally difficult early on, but it's not as noticeable as most difficult platformers, because you get 2 chances and most of the obstacles are coins.

I like the art style and the Mario references--it definitely feels like the darkest timeline version of the Mushroom Kingdom.

goerp says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:12pm

I love this! 5 star for the concept. A neat twist on the arcade game.
I like the all the arcade references, it plays like an arcade but you really have to change your reflexes.
This is one of those game I recomend to friends: 'look what they make at Ludum Dare'.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Gets very hard very quickly... ITS BRILLIANT!!!

atombrot says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:13am

hahaha so funny :)

eskivor says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:32am

A little bit difficult but I like it !

Jan 14, 2014 @ 1:18pm

I made a vid of the game here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dfxTTSPNCPI

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]