December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

OneShot

by minibutmany - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a simple game
where one tries to hit all of the
spinning balls once they line up.
You need to be quick!
You only have one short moment to make your "One Shot".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#164Audio3.21
#230Theme3.37
#283Fun3.20
#303Innovation3.20
#319Overall3.23
#362Mood2.95
#546Humor2.13
#779Graphics2.33

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:34pm

This is a great game. Seriously: great. My reasons for thinking this are many. There are tons of "one shot" submissions for this compo, but yours is unique (so far) in that it doesn't require accuracy or method, so much as patience. Others will tell you: patience is my favourite controller.

The glitch sound-track helps, too, as does the aesthetically pleasing "orbits". I mean, humans just love watching things turn: we are hard wired to find rotational symmetry and gears-like motion around a point attractive. When it all lines up for one moment, and you get the shot! BOOM!

The game mocks you when you lose, and because there is no save, this actually starts to get to me. Emotions, man, they are an excellent control.

Finally: the fact that you have to start from the beginning each time (I mean, the fact that this is an "arcade style" game) is perfect. I wish so hard that there was a leader-board for me to climb.

Kvisle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Nice little entry. I had problems beating the one with four rotating balls before I gave up. Not sure if there's a win condition, or if the levels are proceduraly made and will go on forever.

I liked how the audio worked when hitting the balls - it worked well with the music.

A bit frustrating use of the theme - restarting the entire game for one miss isn't very forgiving :)

jongtao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:59pm

It's simple, yet just challenging enough to not be frustrating. It would be kind of cool if the balls kept moving after you tried to "shoot."

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Really challenging! Cool concept.

minibutmany says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Thanks for all the replies...
The levels aren't generated.
There are 10 preset levels.
If anybody wins all 10 I will be surprised!

Eric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:20am

Dude this game makes me feel like a boss every time i make the shot. Awesome entry!

johnfn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Very clever idea with a lot of tension! The only problem is that you have to restart the whole game every time you lose a single level :(

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Cool idea! I had a great time playing it. Very very challenging! Nice graphics and music. Great job! :)

If you have time, rate my game too! I would really appreciate it :D

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:06am

I really liked your take on "one shot", very clever!

valgriz says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:31am

This really is an awesome idea. Nice job dude!

TeamKl0n says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:10am

Pretty Good!
First, I don't know why, but I really enjoyed the art design and the graphics. With the music they set up a nice mood.
Second, the idea of the balls stopping when your start to move is genious. The game changes from a predictive "where will the balls be" to a "lets just line them up" (it makes it easier IMO). Also, the slow moving of your ball just adds tension to the game. Congratulations!

jonask says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Very fun. I like how the sound of the balls interact with the music, nice touch.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:10am

Nice concept ! Wow it's an addictive game ! Challenging a lot !

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:00am

I like the simplicity, and the audio is nice and clean.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Such a GREAT concept! Keep it up, really enjoyed it :D

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Nice game!
Its quite challenging to hit space in the right moment, but the movement patterns are predictable, what is good for the gameplay.
Good work :)

x70x says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:44pm

So simple, but very effective. Nice work.

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:47am

Played it on android, works fine for me. I like the sounds when you pick up the planets. The gameplay is fun and relaxing, but I really dislike having to restart from the first level, it feels artificial.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]