December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Free Sample Sim

by Jack Zackowitz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Part "Papers, Please", part Mr. Potato Head, part "Guess Who", and part part-time job.
My second completed LD game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#24Humor3.96
#113Theme3.63
#253Fun3.25
#268Overall3.29
#335Innovation3.14
#358Mood2.96
#537Graphics2.86

Comments

Samsturai22 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24am

Enjoyed it, Very diffrent

Cosrnos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:26am

It won't start for me at all :/

spike_xp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:27am

Lol, true that it feels like papers, please but this is a whole new level of parody XD

Love it, bro

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:27am

Pretty good overall just a little hard to block out people from the last day (I probably need to upgrade my brains read/write speeds)

njexit8 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00am

This game has a sense of humor- its a unique game scenario and its fun to play.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:23am

The boss cracked me up!

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:29am

I like the cartoons and humor, and you captured the theme perfectly!

BoppreH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

Loved it. A little on the hard side, though. Also, it took me a while to figure the clothes make a difference.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:03am

Hahahaha, very cool :)

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12am

Got a good chuckle when it slapped RUDE in my face. Good job!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:25am

RUDE. (haha, so great)

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:45am

I failed miserably but I failed with a smile on my face.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:17am

Haha got a genuine laugh when I got fired, great use of theme.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:02am

This is funny and different.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:12pm

I love how distinguishable you designed the faces :) Fun game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:26pm

A very new and different view on the theme.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Funny, and the memory gameplay works well!

bobo_oh says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Really nice idea and sooo funny :)

MrBlade says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Amazing game. Different in a cool way. Would have liked some sounds. Very creative art. Keep it up!

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Ahaha just brilliant, truly cracked me up! Got to the last day and then screwed up. Such fun :)

bobo_oh says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:47am

Awesome game and great idea !

Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:59am

Those faces are spectacular in their creepyness. My god the trapezoid teeth with the dead black eyes. Nailed the theme with the mechanics.

NoNoBattle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:35pm

its like papers please, cool .

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Good cheesy fun; I totally think the "I get paid more than you" guy should buy his damn cheese though.

Dhy says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:02pm

haha funny :)

Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:15am

Hey, I know you; Just randomly came across this game and realized we both independently were inspired by Papers, Please! I like the humorous take you had on the though. Great job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]