December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Legged Jonny

by ChuiGum - Jam Entry

I haven't finished yet, as you can see there aren't any instructions. There isn't a goal in the game either, yet. So this is just a little sneak peek I guess. I'm still working on it though. I was originally shooting for the Compo but I needed to add some more stuff before I could submit it. You Only Get One... Leg ;) One Legged Jonny...

Instructions:

Arrow Keys to Move Left and Right
Z to shoot
Space to Jump
Up Key to use Jetpack

(P Key to "Play" by the way)

If you already have LOVE(Awesome Lua Framework) then download the "Windows(LOVE)". If you don't have LOVE, download "Windows(.exe)".

-Enjoy c:

WORKS NOW!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#283Humor(Jam)2.29
#380Theme(Jam)2.42
#455Audio(Jam)1.70
#500Mood(Jam)1.80
#507Graphics(Jam)2.04
#533Fun(Jam)1.74
#540Innovation(Jam)1.74
#543Overall(Jam)1.88

Comments

gavintlgold says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:40am

I can't get over the spiky things! I can't move/jump high enough :(

Centhra says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03am

Unable to open because the EXE is not shipped with the necessary DLLs.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:12am

I also did not have necessary DLLs :(

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:16am

Same here. :/

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:30am

It's quite a basic platformer. The game unfortunately crashed for me.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:32am

Wha, has the necessary Dlls... Why isn't it working? It worked before and now that I try it it freezes up... I'll try to fix it as soon as possible

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:39am

i really wanted to play this, and i hate to echo everyone here, but i didn't have the required dlls :(

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:24am

Unable to run unfortunately

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:25am

Executable crashes but the LOVE file works.

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:32am

Very simple gameplay and graphics. I ran the LOVE version, and the game freezes for a while when I start it, but then it ran fine.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:25pm

I can't open the game, sorry. Good luck next time!

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Interesting idea, great art. Getting over those spikes was seemingly impossible without the jetpack so probably should just give that to the player straight up.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Hey javifugitivo, both downloads work. One didn't work yesterday but I fixed that last night. So yeah I'm not sure why you couldn't open the game. Did you download the .exe one?

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:20pm

I think I "won" since I got to the right of the spikes and could just keep running forever :) There seems to be a problem by the way where spikes would spawn earlier than the jetpack; is it possible to jump over them without a jetpack?

Radnen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Sometimes the spikes are before the jetpack making it impossible to play. The one leg idea is innovative, but executed as a basic Duke Nukem styled platformer takes that innovation away. Well done on the theme though.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:57am

Love the "wtf-style" :3 Good job !

scoopsy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:21am

Looks neat - I'm on OSX though and can't try it.

lennaert says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:05am

Got to start screen, couldn't hit 'Play'.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:43am

So I managed to play the game, but the mechanics were pretty simple, or at least appeared so, and it seemed rather difficult to make any kind of progress. The one leg also didn't really come through in the gameplay, at least not as far as I got.

angelk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:13am

I had a really tough time jumping over the pillars without the jet pack! You might also want to make the start button something other than "P" :)

_zulli says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:05am

Pretty difficult game, really challenging. It should have a rund option for making it more fluid. But nice job! :D

_zulli says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:07am

OH no i see whats wrong that he has only one lag lol. Im sorry for this misintepretation. However, I still think that it should be easier to jump over those spikes!

cappelnord says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:47pm

The LOVE file should run on other OS than Windows, I ran it on OS X pretty well. It was very hard to jump over the "spears", I never really managed to do it.

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Same as others, I couldn't get over the spikes without the jetpack, and spikes would spawn in front of the jetpack more often than not.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]