December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Christmas Teeth Basher 5000

by DaanVanYperen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are Bob the Christmas Elf, tasked by Santa to solve world hunger by making sure each child gets -exactly- one piece of magical super filling candy!

One problem though, the candy is so filling, any more makes them explode!

Keep greedy children away from candy by chucking them off the screen! Loosen a few teeth and trade them in with the toothfairy to unlock the bonus level!

ASWD to move. Touch a child with either hand to grab it. While holding a child, thrust with your mouse in the direction you want to throw it.

TIP: Shake children around after they eat some candy for some easy teeth.

Made using Java 7, LibGDX, Artemis.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#57Humor3.68
#57Graphics4.07
#262Mood3.13
#283Theme3.26
#305Audio2.87
#319Overall3.23
#356Innovation3.11
#446Fun2.93

Comments

Rikkter Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:48am

This game looks very please. Though I couldn't fully figure out how it plays (that's probably my own fault though). Good job!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:56am

Hahah I like the style, very funny! :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:59am

Cute game. The are is really well done, the thematic is neat, great job ! Unfortunately, a lot of kids lost their teeth, I'm not very good ;)

mr.isaer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:05am

i like this style, and very fun)

syl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28am

fun :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:29am

The arm controls are just quirky enough to work, but just a little too quirky for me. Awesome sound effects.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39am

Hahahaha, very cool and funny!
Reminds me of "Monsters Ate My Condo" for some reason xD

Art is clean, and colourful. Nice!

tiffi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51am

Cute graphics but the controls are a litte bit weird

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53am

Kids love those candy canes!

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12am

I love the visual style. The arm movement is a little picky sometimes, but it works for the most part. Good use of the theme as well!

Devtactics says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:49am

"TIP: Shake children around after they eat some candy for some easy teeth."

Words to live by.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:37pm

I thought it was a lack of sleep that made the game hard to play for me last night. Now with a few hours of sleep more I still have trouble to "read" the game. I feel like the feedback loop on this is somehow broken, as I barely see if I did things right or wrong. As usual I love your art! Also thank for taking part in the bestiam dare. Unfortunately you have been the only one so far, guess people don't like the idea or are just too busy. :)

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:46pm

I liked hands mechanics.... and the.... niam niam niam niam

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:45pm

@Devtactics Oh god did my sleep deprived brain really write that. Apologies to anyone with kids!

@timtipgames Playing it over and over made me immune to the folly of feedback! It's one of the things I wish I had a couple of extra hours to fix. Currently the player is forced to keep an eye on too many things.

Focus tips: Focus on the candy dispensers. Red blinking kids near candy or dispensers is bad, chuck those asap.

@rezoner niam niam niam! I like how people like the sound so much and it only took me 5 minutes to add. XD

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:48am

Funny game and well made. Good job

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:20am

lol that elf. Making him dance was half the fun.

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:19am

Cute graphics, nice use of the theme. It's fun, but it's tough to control the elf's arms!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Really love the graphics, well done :)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Really nice graphics! The idea made me laugh too :)

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Funny and good looking game, the controls are a bit weird bug original. Would be more addictive with a cool soundrack.
Good game. =D

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:18pm

I really like it! :D
Great graphics and idea! The mechanics/controls are well done but not so easy to master.
I would add some really exciting music to make it better!

If you have time, rate my game too. I wd appreciate it :))

jjc180 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Love the visual style and concept. The use of the theme is really creative. I found the controls a bit hard to get a grip of.

Hey just so you know this seems to run fine on OSX too! might want to update your link.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:51pm

D: D: D:
Haha, quirky.
I couldn't figure out the trick to juggle the children and keep them from eating though... you should really let us start from the previous level D:

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:07pm

I love the graphics. I found the game rather confusing at first, but I got into it.

Lyje says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:58pm

A little confusing, but a nice idea and great presentation.

marccspro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:02am

Very Funny !

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:07am

Very nice graphics and cute sound effects. Loved the art style & animations, wide split mouths and the way you can make elf dance :)

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:11am

"I killed them. I killed them all. They're dead, every single one of them." ;_;

I likes your games, yo!

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:15am

Oh, right: P.S. Mad ups!

Idovoodoo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Haha, this is fun, well done!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:05am

The throw mechanic is great. I love tossing those children. Art is slick and very consistent. Overall very well done and cohesive game.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:13pm

really neat graphics. the controls felt a little difficult to master for me. maybe a keyboard key to chuck the kids in the direction you are aiming

Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:50am

Really nice graphics!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Funny graphics, and sound fx were good, found it hard to know what to do, or do it quick enough before exploding heads happened. :)

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:19am

i was confused at first, then some kind of maternal instinct awoke within me and i was able to pull off a final score of like, 11k. the visuals were super clean nice to look at. good job.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:11am

Nice one, I really like it.

GFM says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:40am

Sorry, I'll probably won't be able to play this... >_<

Seems like my graphic card is too old to run this game... (from the error I got)
It's a ATI Radeon HD3200.

C:\Users\GFM\Desktop\ld48>java -jar teeth-ld28-windows-java6.jar
Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Error compiling shader: Vertex shader failed to compile with the following errors: Fragment shader failed to compile with the following errors:
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.g2d.SpriteBatch.createDefaultShader(SpriteBatch.java:177)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.g2d.SpriteBatch.<init>(SpriteBatch.java:141)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.g2d.SpriteBatch.<init>(SpriteBatch.java:78)
at net.mostlyoriginal.teeth.IntroScreen.show(IntroScreen.java:68)
at com.badlogic.gdx.Game.setScreen(Game.java:62)
at net.mostlyoriginal.teeth.TeethGame.startIntro(TeethGame.java:34)
at net.mostlyoriginal.teeth.TeethGame.reset(TeethGame.java:29)
at net.mostlyoriginal.teeth.TeethGame.create(TeethGame.java:23)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:136)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:114)

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:03pm

good use of humour :) I couldn't figure out how to collect teeth ... I always ended up with 0. Also waving the arms was funny but without a clearer mechanism it was a bit frustrating trying to grab/throw some children but not others - I think I would have preferred grabbing the closest child one with a click - then hold the button to charge up a throw (or something!) Overall, really great work :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

@Dry Tee Thanks! Candy weakens teeth, so if you shake kids afterwards (picking up the red blinking ones, jumping around, wiggling the elf hands, any sudden movement should do) teeth start flying.

Has anyone reached the secret level yet? ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]