December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Boomerang

by hypothetical - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one boomerang, if you don't catch it when it returns or it hits an obstacle you will need to retrieve it before you can throw it again.

The controls are WASD/arrow keys for walking, mouse for aiming and left click for throwing.

I originally wanted much larger and more interesting levels along with better art but I'm happy with getting the boomerang mechanic working, even though the boomerang moves in an unrealistic straight line!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1545Coolness24%

Comments

Nighley says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:13pm

This is incredible fun, with a little bit more time this could really be a nice casual game.

bobo_oh says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Your game could be a very good casual game if you decide to make it further !

hroon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Really cool mechanic that you have to pick up your weapon. I would like to see this expanded a little more.

Thijsku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:26pm

I agree with Nighley, it's a fun concept! The pathfinding could use some work and the boomerang deals damage when it's laying on the ground.

Good work!

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:38am

Cool little game! I made a boomerang game too! Same principle, but totally different game! Check it out :D
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=29328

Venturelli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:13pm

I also made a boomerang game where you hold the button to throw it further :D

dqmhose says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:35pm

A little broken at times (one guy was missing from the snow stage) but fun to play!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Simple, but nice game. I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/fUXvqevl8YI

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Tricky but pretty fun, nice work for 48 hours. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]