December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fly Treegator

by Jhelle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Treegator is hungry!!!
Help Treegator eat those delicious piggies and birdies while avoiding the hard surface of the ground.

Treegators grow up to jump out of a tree and get food only once in their lives.

Press SPACE after your demise to quickly restart again :)

Made with Construct, Paint.net and Sfxr.
Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#47Fun3.72
#219Humor3.00
#261Overall3.30
#384Innovation3.06
#386Graphics3.13
#489Mood2.77
#497Audio2.52
#771Theme2.39

Comments

chicknstu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:57am

Strangely addictive! And a little twisted :)

Top score was 2200. Spent the longest in this game so far

Kar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Addictive...! And sounds are nice :) I just don't see "You only get one".

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:37pm

One of the most fun I have played so far. Graphics are spartan but fit nicely together. Sounds are good too.

RandomM00 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Fun! 2550

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Very addictive. But i feel you could have added a little more to it, like some sort of powerups, that make your gator bigger and easier to land on those preys. And i didnt like floaty controls

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Really addictive! I like the graphics too.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:12am

1800, but it would have been higher if there was an instant restart ;D
I could imagine playing this on iPhone using tilt...

weazen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:28pm

3400! This game would be great ported over to mobile. Really enjoyed it.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Agreed with previous comments this would be great as a little mobile release, I could see my daughter playing it for hours :D

Patacorow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:35pm

2950. Really cute, but I can't see how the theme plays in this one. Still a nice game!

bttf says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Never played a game with this mechanic before, very nice!

GameRespect says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Awesome game! Getting the jumps is actually very satisfying thanks to the balanced difficulty, graphics and sound effects. Good job! :D

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Great mechanic, love the graphics. Would be nice to restart quicker.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:21pm

So much fun, so addicting! Port this over to a mobile phone and I'm sold :)

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Haha fun game. Silly and simple. Perfect for LD.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:47pm

The core mechanic is really good, the game is fun, addictive and has a nice flow. I'd would suggest keeping track of a best record and also bonus for aerial combos.

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Really fun to play game with nice graphics. It looks simple, but is hard to master. Treegators may have to eat only once, but sadly it seems this one time lasts to their death.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:53am

Enjoyed playing this quite a few times through.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Wonderful, really fun!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:18am

Most amusing and well balanced.

GFM says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Great game!
It lacks a concise art style, music and killing combo... but other than that it's already really fun!

Myyyvothrr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:18am

Good game, I liked the graphics style!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]