December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pan-Dimensional Roboids

by PapaGrimbles - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Roboids from another dimension are invading. You must gather enough energy to close their portals. Punch Roboids in the face while strategically moving your energy harvester and placing turrets.

Controls:
Click to move
Your robot attacks nearby enemies
Q - Stomp
W - Place Turret
E - Dash
R - Pick-up / Drop Energy harvester

Theme Usage: A shared healthbar between characters, 1 level, 1 enemy type, and 1 life.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#245Fun3.26
#346Graphics3.22
#354Overall3.18
#396Audio2.72
#475Innovation2.95
#542Humor2.14
#602Mood2.62
#764Theme2.41
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47am

Little unsure on how to win but still amazing job.

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12am

Took me a while to get a feel for what I was supposed to do, but once I figured out how/when to switch between harvesting energy/health/ammo it was really fun.

I like the graphics style--pixellated/retro without being too simple.

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:33am

Pretty great concept, really like the animations too.

Fervir says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:39am

Really cool idea.
I like this game.
Nice animations.
I almost made it, got busted at 800.

xk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:07am

Those sprites are adorable!

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07am

Is it just me or does the sound of you punching robots make an awesome beat? Controls took a while to get used to but after that it's a fun game!

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Graphics - ace, gameplay - ace, reall good game. Love the animation on the robots

henrykun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:18pm

This is awesome, a little bit difficult but very good idea and well implemented.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Not sure about the theme but other than that a really great game!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Great graphics and solid gameplay! Good job! :)

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:15pm

The graphics are nice but there is very little in terms of innovating and using the theme in a creative way.

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:03pm

I have fun! But text is very hard to read

BuKaneerz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34pm

cool animation !

Christian S. says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Solid mechanics, fun!

Thommy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:01pm

The sprites have very nice animations.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:22am

Very cool graphics, I liked the use of theme. Good game! I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/EqAXn91dGLM

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:42am

Solid theme use and good graphics. Sometimes I found the enemies would bunch up by the module though.

Photon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:07am

Pretty nice idea you got here. The combat is actually pretty creative, and was fun to mess around with. Unfortunately I found it to be a bit too slow; it takes a long time to get to 1000 energy, and the game started to feel kind of stale as a result as the gameplay isn't that terribly diverse. Pretty nifty nonetheless though. :)

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:04pm

This is a pretty fun game, and a neat sort of blend between action and resource-management. The audiovisuals could use some polish, particularly the sound effects, and the game could use a lot more enemy and terrain variety, but the mechanics are interesting. This could be a solid prototype for something bigger!

Unept says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:00am

Love the concept. Very well polished considering the time. Loved the graphics too!

murilo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:52pm

I didn't really know what to do but it was fun! The smash animation looks great! Good job man!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]