December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

1sland

by Exclamation Mark - 48 Hour Compo Entry

1sland is a game where you are stranded on a desert island, with only 1 tool.

The tool is chosen by random and they all work a bit differently!
Use what you got to hunt for food, cook it and build a boat for your escape! All in a retro crazy gamish style.

Unity3d, in 2d. WSAD to move, mouse to use tool. Number keys to count sheep when you sleep. Follow onscreen instructions and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#443Humor2.35
#610Innovation2.74
#618Graphics2.70
#716Theme2.48
#763Audio1.41
#870Mood2.12
#886Fun2.22
#913Overall2.43
#1358Coolness36%

Comments

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Didn't quite get all the subtleties of the mechanics but like the idea and the execution..

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:53am

I didn't really understand the controls or how to execute the goals, but what I can tell you is that those turkey-wanna-be birds were incredibly overpowered. Don't they know that a stone is supposed to take down two birds?

nicotr014 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:00am

Interesting idea, but the controls were really tough to figure out. Some clear in-game instructions would be help

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:13am

Instructions were very hard to follow. Looks like it would have been a cool game if I understood it.

ahm99 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:50am

Moving the mouse so fast is too hard, If you don't move it super fast, you die (MY ARM IS FRUSTRATED). The tool wasn't in the same place as my mouse and I was trying to figure out if I should use the mouse or the tool (the tool was an inch down and an inch to the left from the mouse). Cool game though. Good job :)

Blooperly says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:17am

Looks fun, but i couldnt get past the birds...

yatan says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:20am

need to play game a few times to understand the instructions. Maybe a little text instructions may be help.

Madball says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:00am

I didn't make a quarter of a boat (I reached about 22.5%), and I felt I had enough.
The game is repetitive. Well, I guess you know it. It goes too fast, so I have no time to understand the game. The first time I played I was like "OMG why did I just die?" How could I know birds deal damage? OK, I sleep for the first time. I see one sheep, so I press 1. I get a heart, I guess that means I'm right. I see another sheep. That's two sheep total, so I press 2. What, I'm wrong? OK, so I don't need to count total. But if I didn't see your gif, I think I wouldn't know what to do at all.
I feel that's a negative feedback, so I should tell something good...
Unlockables? Nice, you got time to implement unlockables. Hmm... graphics look good, too. What, tools work diffirently? Good, some variety.
You can move while sleeping. I think you forgot to disable it.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:45am

I really liked the concept of being stranded on an island. I wish there was some more feedback on whether I was doing the right thing. For instance, sometimes I didn't know if I was supposed to be moving the mouse or clicking the mouse button.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Didnt quite understand how to play the game, but I do like it :) I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/1dYHR5aknGc

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:04pm

More instructions are needed.

GFM says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:35am

Haha, nice game! :)
But a little tiring... a mouse is definitely not the right tool to this task.

Always remember: If life gives you a rubber duck, demand to see life's manager and burn their hose down with rubber ducks! XD

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]