December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Life For Dead

by Brunodev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello everyone,

Well this game is more kind of a concept of what I wanted to make. I had a simple but complex idea, and I'm pretty satisfied at where I got to. Yes, there are MANY bugs and glitches and I know it, it's just that I only had time code the game and almost no time for debugging, where I used it for game breaking ones. I liked the concept so much, that I might even continue it, after this is over. It would be a pretty good idea if it was better executed and what most intrigues me: Multiplayer. I'm FAR from having the coding capacity of doing it but I can dream, right? I mean someday. So yeah, enjoy it if you can.

____________________________________________________________

One Life For Dead is a zombie shooter game, where you only have ONE life to kill the more infected as you can before dying. Join a group of survivors on this battle for survival.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#447Audio2.63
#634Mood2.57
#707Humor1.79
#784Fun2.42
#814Graphics2.23
#877Theme2.12
#922Overall2.41
#929Innovation2.08

Comments

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12am

Not a bad game, pretty simple shoot-em'-up. Top-down pixel art makes for a weird point of view, but not terrible. I also thought that maybe the zombies had too much health, but that's a bit of a nit-pick.

Brunodev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21am

Thanks for your review!

onemoar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40am

More zombies. :D

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42am

Sweet music!

Brunodev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Thanks Bloated!

Brunodev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Yep onemoar, I really wanted to do that, but I didn't had enough time! I submitted this 8 minutes before the ending of the Compo, it was the most complex game that I have developed in 48h for LD. I mean 1500 lines of code may sound easy for a good programmer but it was not for me xD. So yeah, thanks for your review man!

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:29pm

you could have put more zombies, but with less life. It takes too many shots

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:29pm

music is really spot on with the game. Also was fun to play. I ran out of bullets so fast though, maybe more spawns? Thanks!

hroon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:29pm

The close view make it quite claustrophobic - the music also adds nicely to this mood (like an old horror movie). It would be cool if the survivors would also seek the company of you and other npcs. Enjoyed it!

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Gosh, great work Bruno! Could use better graphics, and some "fleshing" out (heehee), but besides that, I love how there are different types of zombies, powerups, and the gameplay is straightforward. :D

Brunodev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:18am

isaacmarco: Yeah I didn't had much time to get the game play to feel just right. Thanks for your comment!

TeddyNashor: I had some trouble with the powerup spawn code. Thanks for your review :)

hroon: Thanks man! The survivors already look for other survivors if they are in their "range of view", unfortunately didn't had time to make the same thing with player :(

Zanzlanz: Thanks for your support bro! <3

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:50am

I thought the audio and mood were quite good. Gameplay felt a bit buggy, but that's expected.

travislucia says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:50am

Musics not bad, graphics and gameplay need some work.

floorman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:51am

A bit boring, but not bad. Moving through what appeared to be doors was a bit weird and I didn't quite understand the win-con. It was OK.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:52am

cool game, should work on it further and add some extra levels

ReactorScram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:41am

For some reason, the links are not working for me. Couldn't play it, couldn't rate it.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:44am

Zombies zombies! Nice music!

Warzone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:05pm

The game itself isn't too bad, but the art is. But It's hard making good art in less than 48 hours when you still need to do all the coding still. so to me, art isn't a big deal. Good job. And good luck.

bitserum says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Its sure is a complex idea for 48 hours but still you did it. You sad in your description you would like to implement multiplayer. Maybe you could look at Unity2D abilities. It would be much simpler than flash. With this finished project your are step closer to your dream. Really god job.

Brunodev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:52pm

@bitserum Your words are inspiring to me. Thank you!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]