December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Realm

by aviktorov - Jam Entry

You only get one free planet left in the whole Universe and two factions trying to steal it.

Goal: steal the planet.

Rule #0: it's a game about indirect control and strategy.

Rule #1: fighters will easily destroy bombers, bombers will crush frigates and frigates will easily exterminate fighters.

Rule #2: you can play the game with your friend!

Rule #3: beware of mysterious Xenos race.

Rule #4: tractor ships (they can move the planet) will spawn within time interval.

--
Controls:

Player 1
a - buy fighter
s - buy bomber
d - buy frigate

Player 2
j - buy fighter
k - buy bomber
l - buy frigate

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#36Fun(Jam)3.77
#52Innovation(Jam)3.59
#60Overall(Jam)3.71
#126Graphics(Jam)3.85
#175Mood(Jam)3.17
#267Theme(Jam)2.76
#363Humor(Jam)2.00
#453Audio(Jam)1.73

Comments

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:06am

Love the concept and graphics. Reminds me of a simpler more accessible GSB. One day I want to make a 4X game with battles like this. Good job!

aviktorov says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:07am

Thank you! :)

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:03am

I played the game versus Easy AI. It would be nice to have the countdown to each wave on the bottom of the screen where the rest of the purchasing information is to make it easier to look for(because I switched back and forth between them a lot). Also, I think there could have been more feedback when purchasing the ships and a way of clearly indicating my budget for each wave. Every unit in the game was clearly identifiable and nicely made. The objective was clear having read your instructions. In terms of game balance, I never won on easy mode and found it hard to develop new strategies to help me achieve victory.

aviktorov says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:11am

Yeah, we'll probably fix some UI and gameplay stuff in post-compo version. Thank you for your feedback! :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:58am

Nice idea, I really enjoyed the game.
Wish I could vote on it, Maybe next time :)!

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Game seemed a bit slow. Nice graphics.

sadiquo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Good time spend on your game, but the button for buy spaceship not work every time...

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Love concept and graphics. Had a lot of fun playing this, even if it's a bit hard ! Great job !

Poxymyr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Great concept, the game is looking nice and the goal is clear. I just can't beat the AI on hard mode :p Also, I like the 2 players mode.

Norgg says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Nice game. I played vs an Easy AI and eventually got a strong foothold by just saving up for a few turns and buying mass frigates. Until then it was pretty stalematey even though I was trying to get units which would counter the AI's.

henrykun says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:15pm

I wooon!! haha it was difficult xD really like your game. I usually don't play this kind of games but I liked yours, very well done.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Super cool game!! Love the graphics and the concept. It's pretty awesome when these Bombs-Thingies bounce off the planet :D

TBSHRichard says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:38pm

I'm not quite sure what the game had to do with the theme, but it was a fun and interesting game to play. It's simple enough to know how to play yet complex enough to make it difficult enough so that the player can't just push buttons without thought in order to beat the AI.

The graphics are clean and beautifully crafted. Some of the UI text (like the cost of each ship) was difficult to read, however.

I don't know if I was imagining it, but it felt like whatever direction the Xenos ships decided to orbit in, it helped the player whose ships orbited in that same direction. I only played a few games so it was difficult to tell, but if it is the case then perhaps you could just have the Xenos ships alternate their orbit direction.

Great game and congratulations!

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Thank you guys! The main idea behind this game was 'you only get one planet' so everyone want that planet.

I'm working on a post-compo version with sound & music and some bugfixes. :)

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:26pm

well-paced game, and a good challenge.

embero says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Like it! Reminds me of Pax-Britannica.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:55pm

"I'm working on a post-compo version with sound & music and some bugfixes. :)"

Can't wait :)

mortus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:36pm

The game is very cool and I would play it till my fingers bleed, but the one single disbalance thing ruins it all. The Xenos (I thought they were space police until I read the description actually) were always flying the planet around its left side during my game. I don't know why they do it, because it's just the alien way they are or because the right player was winning all the time for me, but it means they actually help the winning player (or just right player in the first case) by destroying red fleet all the time. It makes game so much unfair in my eyes that I can't play it. If you make a more just post-compo version I would play it more with great pleasure!

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Awesome game!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Thanks everybody, you're really flattering us *^-^*

@mortus nay, sir, the Xenos only shoot forward, so by orbiting in the counter direction they should come to destroy the winning fleet first. They also prefer to attack those who succeed in stealing the planet. However, you're right, there are just too many of them, which renders them overpowered. That's going to be re-balanced in the post-compo version. Thanks for your comment :)

steamgirl says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Really enjoyable! I agree with code-11, would be nice to see what my budget is for purchasing. Quite a few times I purchased some frigates and then had no money left to spend on other ships. :( You should defo do a post-compo version though - it was fun to play. :)

aviktorov says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Yay! We made a post-compo version! A lot of new stuff such as balance, sounds & music, interface, minor gameplay issues

Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Addicting game ! Really challenging too ! The graphics are well done. Had a good time playing it, great work !

Diptoman says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Wow, this was awesome. Kept playing for a long time. The gfx were really well done. Simple and effective.

Zerkruemler says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Nice idea, but some sound effects would be nice.

joppiesaus says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Really good game. I didn't really get the theme, but that's okay because this game is just awesome.

psc1997 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:54pm

I love concept and graphics ! Really great entry ;3

Raphy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Good concept, love the space theme and the battles. Well done !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]