December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Charitable Donation

by Lizzip - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Charitable Donation: You only get one...coin

Controls: Mouse

Instructions:
In this game you only have one coin/ball, you must use it to save as many people as possible.
The game is based on a charity coin cascade, but it seems to be magical or broken one.
Depending on where the coin lands, you might save people, or get more coins.
Keep going until you run out of coins and save as many people as possible.

In game, choose one of the top four slots to drop the ball through, then click 'DROP THE BALL!' to drop it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#344Innovation3.13
#537Theme2.80
#803Graphics2.27
#868Overall2.50
#981Fun1.81
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Really liked the idea of your game; however, I thought it was kind of difficult to figure out the controls. Couldn't figure out how to drop the ball at first.

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Awesome. Simulated charity is even more fun than real charity!

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:46pm

This is good. Make your numbers bigger with the saved people though, like you just saved 10000 people! sounds more epic then just one :). Also dropping multiple coins at once! You could change the bottom in live time and stuff.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:48pm

I click on the buttons and they do nothing. I'm using Windows 7/Firefox.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Fun way of trying to strike a balance between donating to those in need and acquiring more wealth to do so. Adding more immediate needs for the people and benefits (investing?) for getting more money could add a lot more depth to the game. Nice job exploring a unique concept.

EatThePath says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Not a bad concept, and I rather like the lighting effect as the ball moves around. The rather pure randomness about it takes way from the fun for me though, and the controls could use refinement. Allowing arrow key input, showing current rewards and current ball placement in the field, and making the buttons rectangular rather than clicking on the pixels of text would all be nice.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Could do some hints about what to click on to control where you drop the ball but the basic mechanism is sound. With a bit of polish this could be very good indeed.

Lizzip says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:11am

It's nice to see support for the concept, shame the rushed UI is bringing me down here - maybe it's something I shall work on again.

Piscythe; It can be a bit temperamental, seems to work best in Chrome (though it usually works in Firefox too, but for some people it just doesn't. No idea why)

01rafael says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:45am

How should I savw people with all this stuff? )))) I still wonder )

psc1997 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Interesting. Simple and good :)
In my small display (1024x600) I have problems (text is too big, and buttos are hide under text). There is no scaling or something like this...

mmickyman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Too much randomness as other says.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]