December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Pesky Yellow Orb

by joe40001 - Jam Entry

The goal of the game is to find and collide with the pesky yellow orb. All the orbs give off a color matching their color, yellow gives off an extra bright yellow light around it. Also it makes a different noise than all the others.

WASD/ARROW Moves
Mouse looks
Space Jetpack/jumps

All you need to do is find the Yellow Orb and collide with it to win. But he is Pesky.

Dev Notes: So this game is what I threw together in just a few short hours, my previous ideas were much more substantive and good, but I ran into problem after problem just getting the different engines working. So eventually I just scrapped everything and made this. This is really just so I had something to share. Hopefully it's not too terrible.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#251Graphics(Jam)3.26
#355Mood(Jam)2.67
#402Audio(Jam)2.25
#430Humor(Jam)1.67
#493Theme(Jam)2.04
#501Overall(Jam)2.35
#504Innovation(Jam)2.09
#508Fun(Jam)1.96
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

Before Light says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:33am

I almost catch it, but it's too hard for me. The buildings level of detail is amazing.

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:43am

I love the buildings but I don't know what I have to do :S

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:50am

Nice skyscrapers!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:03am

awesome graphics. But very hard to understand what i must to do. Catch the yellow orb? its hard anyways this go too fast and i dont get time to catch.

digihacker says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:11am

The building is nice ! But I don't know why the game play was laggy for me. Anyway, nice try !

joe40001 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:14am

I forced myself to just have something playable even if it was nothing like my original plan.

The goal is just to collide with the yellow orb, he does run away a bit and his movements are tricky to deal with, thus the "Pesky" title, but I can assure you colliding with him is quite possible.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:43am

I touched the orb but doesn't do much I guess :) Loved the sound and visual clues. Detailed buildings too! I wish we could gain altitude a little bit faster, though, the orb is too fast for slow ascend :(

joe40001 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:05pm

If you touch the orb with a moderate amount of force it will tell you that you win. I can patch it to raise the jetpack velocity a tiny bit, I kept it a little low so it created a sense of height to these huge buildings. Anyway thanks for the great feedback. :D Considering how this game is hardly even a game and just a super rushed thing I put out quickly because my main project feel apart I'm glad it has been received as positively as it has.

jjc180 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Unfortunately this ran really poorly for me so it was almost unplayable. The models looked very detailed considering the time given.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:04pm

nice and original, loved the sound of the orb as you pass it! a bit slow on my old i3 laptop but i guess those buildings were fairly high poly so not surprising really

joe40001 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Thanks everybody! Sorry for the lag on older-ish computers.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:37am

It was too difficult to catch the orb.

The mouse control was also too sensitive - almost gave me a headache.

It was also difficult to orientate myself at the beginning.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:48am

That's a nice-looking city you've got there. And the title isn't lying: that really is one pesky yellow orb. XD

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:19am

nice building you get here! the game is hard to play due technical problems. :(

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Tried hard but haven't catch the orb! The game is laggy unfortunately...

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Love the architecture. The building designs are really nice and so is the lighting. Lag is a bit frustrating though, I guess you could get the polycount down by using normal maps and textures, but then we're not talking about a weekend anymore... :)

Tanser says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Nice concept.

Grafter says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Looks good, like the buildings!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]