December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The YOLO game

by OniiRam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game you are Subject039 and you have to run to escape from the laboratory (and from a big mecha trying to eat you alive).
You Only Live Once: each time you die you restart from the beginning.
You get only one life: collect every "O" you find in the game to unlock the ending.
Use arrow keys to move and jump.
Hope you enjoy the game! Leave a comment if you made it to the end!

Oh and remember to shout "YOLOOOOOO" while running through the laboratory!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#261Audio2.97
#416Humor2.43
#427Graphics3.06
#471Fun2.89
#559Overall2.94
#677Mood2.50
#737Theme2.45
#902Innovation2.14

Comments

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Nice graphics!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:35pm

You could arrange the difficult of the game, from the 1st for the 2 second it gets a lot harder, it could be better balanced.

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Pretty good, but it gets really hard really fast.

tiffi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:43pm

5 Stars for graphics. Thats one cool Robot-Dino. Savepoints would be great

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Nice mecha. I liked the start from the beginning each time you die

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Cool <3 Thank you for sharing this with us. I like it!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:25pm

damn that was hard...

Nazariglez says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Lol! nice art graphics, really quite hard game

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:29pm

This is actually quite fun, challenging though, but not too challenging. I like!

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:03am

This game play is really good, but it gets so frustrating when I get past a big chunk of the game and have to start over from the very first room. Also #YOLOOOOOOOO

klhiep says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Yeee i liked! it's quite too difficult but anyway, good graphics!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:42pm

I fuckin' love this game! <3

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:10pm

"...more O's than SpaghettiOs. #HARDCORE #YOLOOOOOOOOOOO!"

lol, for a second I thought this text box had correctly identified my misspelling of "SpaghettiOs" as "SpEghettiOs"(typo) but it still thinks the word is misspelled. :'(

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:34am

#YOLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Moosefly says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:33pm

I don't really like platforming and starting from the beginning after each death was an even bigger slap to the face :P. Well, I came here for the mecha-dinosaur and atleast you managed to deliver there!

Macroz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:38pm

I think the starting from all the way in the beginning is annoying. But there is some potential there :)

Dry Tree says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:12pm

So many LD28 games say "each time you die you restart from the beginning" and that's really crap because it adds no fun or enjoyment to any game (well, almost any game). But I don't blame the individual developers, I blame the terrible choice of theme.

Anyway - looking at your game in particular, I found it quite tough, the graphics were very good and I liked the way the pick-ups and the HUD were identical - nice mix of the 'game world' and the 'player world' :) Overall great work.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:26pm

I'm not sure if someone already mentioned it, but you get stuck on the left side of a platform. Savepoints would be really nice (I know, the theme...) :D

Kohijin says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Pretty simplistic take on the theme but overall pretty nice, although the platform collisions sent me to rage city a few times ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]