December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Some Day

by Colorvade - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lost in a wasteland, only shining objects let you cling to life. You get one life and one gift a day.

Some day, maybe, you'll get out of this place. Some day, maybe...


If the above link isn't working you can play it on Dropbox:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/24294238/Some%20Day.swf

EDIT: A small change to what I consider to be a game-breaking bug/typo has been made post-deadline, which I've read to be fair. If this isn't the case this change can be redacted.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#57Graphics4.07
#296Overall3.26
#302Mood3.07
#454Humor2.32
#531Audio2.43
#545Theme2.79
#577Fun2.75
#681Innovation2.62

Comments

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:50am

love the graphics in the initial part of the game, really lovely

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:50am

Very cool game! I really liked running away from those glowing things. I died at the red bullet things though :(

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:52am

Your game is so polished! The graphics make we want to convert to making 2D games again.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

It seems like this game might be a lot of fun. And there is alot of work done already. I feel a lack of tutorialization though. Couldnt understand what i gotta do. Also ver good graphics

zacaj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54am

controls are a bit floaty :/

graphical style is really nice, but I think you need something to fill those giant blank areas

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41am

Very well made! I couldn't understand it fully, but it was fun.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:02am

Really nice, liked the graphics and it's well thought
Would have liked a bit more originality but it's really great ;)

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Aww! The character looks lovely! *_*

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:48pm

I really dig the graphics, but it was bit too cryptic what I am supposed to do and where I need to go. Collect all the orbs? I feel there could be lots of potential here with more content and polish.

sumprunk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Your site seems to have crashed! Too bad, I would have liked to try this, the screenshot doesn't say all that much but the style looks cool.

Integershift says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:54am

No audio... is it just me?
It was alright overall... It got dark too fast though.

Eric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:56am

Very cool! kinda hard but i enjoyed the visuals while i died!

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:27am

The art is the best thing about this game! Gameplay needs a little direction for the player :)

nicotuason says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:59am

So much to explore! Great flashlight effect too.

Photon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Talking mailbox!

I managed to get 6/7 orbs before something I couldn't even see killed me. Its unfortunately a little demoralizing to travel the distance and then get killed and lose it all. Pretty solid entry nonetheless. Good job.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Like other people said: brilliant graphics, nice atmosphere! it could do with some more explanation and it was a bit buggy (you could keep going up on a ladder for instance.
Still pretty impressive after 48 hours.
Are you going to go further with this? Looks promising.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:50pm

I really like platformers with an open-ended nature, being able to go anywhere at the start is great! Also the talking mailbox made me chortle

nerial says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:50am

Nice atmosphere ! the background is beautiful

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:49am

Wow, I was amazed by the vastness of the game. Had a great time exploring the world, trying to remember the positions of the light orbs. Once a light orb got pushed into a wall though ._.
Anyways, despite some bugs, it's a great entry- the mood, the graphics and the feel to it is simply fantastic.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:52am

Wow, I was amazed by the vastness of the game. Had a great time exploring the world, trying to remember the positions of the light orbs. Once a light orb got pushed into a wall though ._.
When night falls, it gives me the creeps xD
Anyways, despite some bugs, it's a great entry- the mood, the graphics and the feel to it is simply fantastic.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:54am

Wow, I was amazed by the vastness of the game. Had a great time exploring the world, trying to remember the positions of the light orbs. One time a light orb got pushed into a wall though ._.
When night falls, it gives me the creeps xD
Anyways, despite some bugs, it's a great entry- the mood, the graphics and the feel to it is simply awesome.

bitserum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:05pm

I agree with some of the other comments, it lacks a bit of polish and explanation (or at the least a sense of direction). I liked it though, the graphics are very nice, and it's fun to play. Reminds me just slightly of the Untitled Story.

moop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Nice concept and lovely graphics. The high difficulty kept me from completing it unfortunately.

Warzone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:36pm

This is a amazing game! I love the large map with many places to explore! One of the best games I've played this LD!

Unept says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Love it. There are a few bugs, but you had 48 hours. I love the sense of vastness, the art, the exploration, the talking mailbox. Bookmarked to play later when i have more time. Well done.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:58am

I loved playing this. I like the lack of a direction, as it makes exploring more enjoyable.

the says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:35am

Awesome game. Main hero is so cute, mailbox surprised me again and again and I was dying each time differently.

ashen says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:42am

Excellent parallax scrolling backgrounds and the main character is nicely done too. I felt it was a little empty in areas but then I suppose that is exactly the point of a wasteland setting. The night/day was good too. Well done.

HD408 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Nice art, but areas are so vast and empty. I think you should continue to work on this game, and that's a good beginning.

mamoniem says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:58am

loved the dark areas ;)
I find the floating controls is fine , specially when it is done for a jam !

Xavier says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Nice job :) I love the graphics. They're pretty nice. Only I've found an issue when I try to pick up and handle the ladders. They are a bit confusing but the rest is fully playable.

diegomachado says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Graphics and details, like animations and paralax, are very well crafted. I've got frustrated when was getting too dark. Maybe just dark 'enough' would be more fair.

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Great game, Loved the graphics.

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:14am

Sweet! I had a lot of fun and it looks just amazing!

Found a bug though: After I killed the guy with the gun on the left, I pushed the coin in the area with the dead guys gun into the wall and couldn't reach it anymore :-(

rezoner says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:48am

Really like the exploration idea in this game.

madflame991 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:44am

The art style is good and polished and the concept is fun. I played at it for a while, but the controls are so slippery I found it almost impossible to reach some places. I also thought that you had to collect everything in just one day, but apparently it's not so. I would like to see a post-compo version of this game, with some better controls and maybe a larger area to explore.

rico.albe says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Took me a couple of attempts to get what was going on in it. And by a couple of attempts I mean I actually played it, closed, and then a friend said it was cool and sort of taught me.

Great graphics and atmosphere setting.

Oh, and some stairs you can climb all the way to the ceiling even though the visuals for them don't.

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Nice graphics and atmosphere. Enjoyed this :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]