December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Button"Space"

by miklyha - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only got one... button "SPACE"!

R-RESET

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#136Theme3.56
#216Innovation3.37
#351Humor2.59
#427Graphics3.06
#616Overall2.86
#744Mood2.40
#762Audio1.42
#829Fun2.35

Comments

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:50am

My life makes sense now. Need one of these installed.

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51am

The first level led me to believe I could just beat the entire game by spamming space but the second level showed me there's some potential strategy. Great job!

lucars83 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53am

Interesting. Not all that fun but interesting.

Dynad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53am

One button it is, the idea is cool but its kinda short xD

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56am

Brilliant, haha.

PapaGrimbles says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31am

The idea of collecting / avoiding your next possible input is interesting... cool stuff.

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31am

This is hilarious. Really short, but hilariously pointless. This needs to be a wallpaper XD

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:20am

Nice idea!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54am

Haha pretty cool. Although spamming space will get you far. Just two levels though? Hoped for a more challenging level! But hey, 48 hours ain't much. Job well done!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Nice! :p Did you get inspired by Canabalt?

miklyha55 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:19pm

AlanZucconi: No. I wanted to make a game similar to the movie "I am Legend" but more can not make

miklyha55 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Alan Zucconi: No. I wanted to make a game similar to the movie "I am Legend". In this game should be enemies and more elements, but I had not a lot of time. Sorry.

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Interesting concept. I'd have liked to see a few more levels, though.

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Very cool idea. Can be hard to make it work on some parts, but it's good still!

mtrc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Lovely graphics and the concept is great, although a little confusing! Toss in a tutorial and I'm definitely interested in more :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00pm

This has potential, i thought it was pretty fun, even if you could just spam space pretty fast.

Infin8 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Interesting idea, but the controls are kind of wonky...Found myself spamming the space just to get the commands to activate.

Moist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03pm

The main problem here is the lack of challenge. You just keep mashing space hoping for the best. I really like the graphics though!

LemonTree says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Great entry! I like your idea!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01am

Interesting idea!

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:56pm

It does seem to have an interesting concept behind it, but I got far by mashing space. Some more level variety would've made this game pretty good, but the basic mechanics all seem to be there.

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:10pm

It looks like you didn't have time to implement all the level you wanted... I'm not so sure how far you could go with this concept.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Nice one. As lucars83 put it, not particularly fun, but certainly interesting and well executed. Feels quite polished and the visual style is excellent.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:55am

Not bad, but the game could use more length and variety - the only challenge for me was figuring out Space tapping intensity.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:50am

No matter how hard I tried, I could not make it off the first platform! Seriously, this is a tough way to start a game … Love the artwork, disappointed not to be able to experience more of the content!

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

What a strange experience. Just mash on space bar repeatedly right? Wow, you only get one... button! I don't think you need the other arrow icons. Because the action hero just kinda runs on auto.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Shame there's no sound, interesting gameplay mechanics though - took me a while to figure out what I had to do but interesting take on the theme nonetheless. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]