December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One

by Broxxar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You've woken up in a strange apartment. You can't shake the feeling that you're being watched. Use your wits, choose your fate.

Click to interact
'E' to pick up items
'R' to reset


There's a lot you can inspect, and some things give more information/do something different if you are near by when you click them. There is a way to get out alive.

Good luck.




Update: I fixed a couple of minor bugs related to reseting after a death (they could make it impossible to win). Also I put doorknobs on the doors just so people could see them at all. Again, related to win condition.

Out in the country with poor internet, I'll upload source as soon as I can.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#7Mood4.21
#76Graphics3.98
#77Overall3.71
#83Theme3.71
#132Audio3.31
#185Innovation3.43
#191Fun3.37
#516Humor2.20

Comments

patricklorio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53am

Is there only the starting room? I found the key but cannot get out the exit. I really like the game, but I'm not sure if I'm stuck or this is it.

patricklorio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54am

I found another door... I'm enjoying this, nice game.

Lazdo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:59am

Uhhh, I killed myself :( I don't think I was supposed to do that xD

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03am

I live!

allinlabs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:19am

The cross-genre between adventure game, top down shooter (even if there's no real shooting involved) and horror is pretty rad man. Awesome entry.
I didn't finished the game though, I'm stuck after "using" the aerosol, no matter what I do I die.

On the bad side I would say that the walls and doors are pretty hard to see.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

Sweet atmosphere. You nailed the Hotline Miami gameplay/feel

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:45am

Cool artwork, cool mood. Like it... but I didn't finished it... found a key but the door is not opening :) Is this part of the game.. If yes _> Cool... If not -> Good ^^

nikev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:48am

I liked the mood and style of the game. It was pretty difficult though.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:48am

Impressive. This is one of the nicest looking entries I have seen. Also, I was able to shoot myself.

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:51am

Very good game, even if I was unable to find how to win :(

Broxxar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:05am

I'll put up a spoiler later on, but for now I'll let people try to work out how to get out alive! As a little hint, I'll say that the lighting in the game isn't just for show.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:05am

AMAZING!

bakpakin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:12am

The graphics are top notch. This looks really nice and polished. How did you draw all the art??

Broxxar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45am

Thanks everyone, glad people are enjoying it! You can read my post mortem if you want a spoiler on how to solve the puzzle! I also mention how I did all the art and what not. Cheers!

Mase says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:13am

Pretty cool… I kept panicking and firing before it was necessary though… and then didn't feel like doing it all again. Many nice details.

rottenmage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:59am

Man, this got my heart pumping!

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:58am

Liked this an awful lot. Sounds were good and the puzzle was off-beat and interesting. Figured everything out relatively easily, even if it was dark. Looks good too!

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Pretty creepy! But not 100% how to beat this!

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Great game! Only issue was the message length.

npgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:33am

Wow almost gave up until you hinted at the lighting, great game all around!

Jejeboy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:05am

Gives me the creeps. Pretty cool.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Nice mood and a fun puzzle. Looking forward seeing more story added to it. Good job!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:42am

Wow, one of my favourite entries so far! I got completely absorbed in it, great gameplay and storytelling! Love the mood :)

recursor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Very engrossing tale. I enjoyed it.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Awesome game! Loved the mood and puzzle, though I found using the key on the door a little annoying as it would not trigger unless you clicked the 'perfect' spot, which was not the handle lol. Otherwise great work! Looking forward to your next entry :P

Broxxar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Ahaha yeah Almax, that was an annoying little issue. It actually compares the center of the player to the center of the object being clicked, which for doors is actually their hinge, so you have to stand on the wrong side of them to open them! Oops :P

Glad you enjoyed it!

ViliX says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:46pm

4/5 for innovation :)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Very good.. I love the alternative endings. Well done

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:42am

I like how the theme is treated, only one shot, but mostly only one object in hand.
The puzzle was quite nice, and its integration to the level was great, good job on that point.

runsintowalls says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:29am

Couldn't figure it out...sorry

Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:04pm

YES! i did it, silent hill is easier, i took me like 20mins to get out of the room, the assassin kills me like 10 times. 5/5 in every aspect, is challenging, scaring, have cool graphics, stressing sound effects and its addictive, awesome job.

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:04am

The hit detection on the door was very difficult. After that, I thought everything was quite clever and I really liked the feel of the game.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:50pm

wow the game is scary xD feels awesome! great work :D loving the sound effects and no music makes it spooky :D

Poxymyr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Another masterpiece from this LD :D I definitely love the atmosphere of this game. I didn't exit the room yet, i get stcuk for a moment now but i'll gladly try again tomorrow! 5 stars for you!

Phyyl says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:37pm

really nice, I like the graphics a lot! I only got to the bathroom tho...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]