December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Strike

by tiopalada - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One Strike is a game about patience and timing. Wait for the right time to prepare your attack, don't be hasty, don't be slow. You have only ONE strike.

The Windows executable is BIG so, if you don't like to wait, download and run the SWF.

Since the game was made on Stencyl the source is basically the game folder.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Graphics4.21
#43Theme3.89
#51Mood3.74
#354Audio2.79
#366Overall3.17
#556Innovation2.82
#630Fun2.68
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25am

Really beautiful artwork! Just wish the gameplay had a bit more depth to it.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09pm

good concept, very good use of theme and beautiful artwork. I liked it over all

mystakin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01am

This reminds me of a mini-game in Kirby Superstar! Fantastic artwork and a well done difficulty curve, but the setup feels like it moves a bit too slow.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:00pm

I actually made a timing minigame for my jam, but didn't have enough time to put it in. I really like this one. Especially the art style. Absolutely amazing.

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Nice graphic. However, there is a bug where after you are being struck (dead), hit Z again and he raises his sword...

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:01pm

gorgeous artwork

Gungnir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Well presented, and right on the mark for the theme. Good tension before the strike - nice use of sound cues.

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Oooh I like that. You used the theme well (and I'm not saying that because we went a similar path with my teammate ;) !) : it's at the core of your gameplay.
The gameplay lacks a bit of depth, as other said. A single QTE probably isn't enough to keep people entertained for a while.
The art direction is nice. Your animation lacks a bit of punch : the timings should show more contrast (slow lift of the sword, hold and extremely fast hit).
The start screen also is too slow and could be seen as a constraint by players.

Anyway, I wish you the best.
Cheers,
nathan

floorman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I love the art style. The idea of the game is simple and yet effective. This is awesome.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Neat idea. :)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Nice artworks. It would be even better if the animation was a bit more developped. And the more you kill enemies, the more you wait. A little viariation of tempo should be enough to make this game addictive !
Nice work !

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:24pm

amazing artwork!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:39pm

The response to my pressing Z felt a bit delayed which made me wonder if I'd gotten it within the time boundaries which is awesome because it adds to the tension of the big reveal after the slicing. It is also a gorgeous game. Very well done!

Also, I don't mean to be a grammar nazi but "Strike as they raise* their blades."

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Awesome!

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:36am

Wonderful art, great mood! The game really tests your patience :) The audio sets the mood right, but it is somewhat repetitive.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:43pm

The graphics and audio really complimented the gameplay! I would've loved some more depth in the swordplay though, maybe in the form of feints or different stances or something.

The mood in this game really was top-tier.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:09am

Very artistic, nice feeling that the art is ink on paper.
BTW if you want to make the game available in the browser, just copy the [download] link from dropbox and remove everything after "?".
Like this: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/5s3i6ull1idsntb/One%20Strike.swf

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:36am

Reminds me a lot of the mechanics of Samurai Shodown, only way more minimalist! Love a good duel game.
I think you could have add depth without giving up on the simplicity though.
As an animator, I would have tried a more subtile take on the "waiting" phase of the samurai's animation, maybe just one pose, completely still, some wind in the clothes, and just a bit of animated background to add tension.
When I lost again myself (I suppose I was the samurai who slaughtered my village)I didn't have the motivation to start all over again, you could have make every warrior defeated a checkpoint.
Hope to see your work for the next LD!

drludos says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Very beautiful game. I love the art style a lot. The gameplay is simple but efficient, but what I like the most is the "mood" of your game (5/5 for me!)

Husky says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:33am

I like the graphics style!! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]