December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Your Friendly One-Hour Lawn Mowing Service (from hell)

by Baknik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is more of a proof-of-concept than a game at this stage.

I was able to get some of the basic functionality done that conveys the theme. You only get one hour to mow the lawn using your army of demonic mowers. Summon them from the fires below to do your hard labor. They won't be too happy about it, but they don't really have a choice, do they?

Here are a few of the many things I would like to add:
- More skills on the demonic power bar
- Changing weather (rain would cause grass to re-grow)
- Dogs running around pooping. Clean the poop to mow the grass under it.
- A banish ability to send stumps, poop, and dogs to their doom
- Many, many other things

Overall, I'm proud of what I got done. It was still a lot of work for 48 hours.

Hope you enjoy!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#237Humor2.95
#702Graphics2.52
#726Innovation2.54
#845Theme2.21
#855Mood2.16
#951Overall2.29
#978Fun1.84
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11am

Funny concept, definitely would never have thought of something like this haha. With more options and demons added could see it being quite addictive, reminds me abit of plants vs zombies (probably just the lawn thing). No audio but apart from the buzzing of lawn mowers im not sure what sound effects could be added at this stage. Apart from that the presentation is really good and the graphics look very clean. UI is very easy to use and figure out aswell.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:40am

Very original. If you place them on the same side you can simulate a race.

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:41am

Decent little game, would like to see some more interactivity!

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06am

Funny concept, but needs at least one more mechanic to feel like a complete game loop.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:09am

Very interesting idea for a game. It has the basic framework for a very addictive game, just needs the features you already requested as well as blingy points to click on to buy more upgrades. I hope you develop this game farther. Good job!

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:24am

I couldn't really figure out how to play. Can you post some instructions?

mactinite says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:25am

Interesting concept though unfinished(as you stated) Those features you talked about to add would make this feel like a full game. Maybe a gas power to speed up the lawn mowers? just an idea though.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:25am

Interesting concept, with a bit tweaking it will be a good time-killer. Graphics are good too. Nice job~

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:27am

It took me longer than it should have done to work out what to do, but didn't really find much in the way of depth. It was nice from a technical and visual point of view though, and the concept is pretty funny :) I wasn't getting any audio - was it broken?

Baknik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:29am

Just going to answer some questions people are having. First off, the only thing you can really do as of now is wait for your demonic power bar to charge up, then you can click the orb to summon a demon mower on any of the dirt tiles. There is no audio unfortunately.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:51am

Interesting. I'd almost think to see it more like a puzzle game - get X demons per yard, or something. Nice job.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:54am

Original concept. Liked it pretty much ! :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:54am

So much original, good idea, i miss sounds and music, but i like the concept and is very addictive. Good job :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:57am

I took me sometime to get understanding how to play it, but then I saw what you wanted to do. If you add more demon choices and problems to solve, this could be a nice strategic game.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Pretty interesting gameplay concept. It's a shame that you weren't able to add some of the features you wanted in time though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]