December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rewind

by Nucleartree123 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rewind is a game about wizards. The objective of the game is to be the first wizard to reach a magical portal at the end of a long road as only one wizard can go through. You probably would have thought that you only get one chance, but acutely because you are a very powerful wizard you can rewind time and have as many chances as you want. The catch is that you keep all the things that you collected on the first try. So using this money you can buy enchantments and charms to help you beat your rival. I know my interpretation of the theme is a bit off. I wanted to make a game that was different from the other games, so I decided to do the opposite of what the theme told me to do. I’m acutely really pleased with how my game ended up. It can be played in pretty much every web browser, including mobile browsers. Rewind has full mobile support so go and give that a try if you want. Rewind is written in HTML5 so it will work on pretty much any browser with HTML5 support. Just remember that it was developed in Google Chrome so it will work best in that. This has been my second Ludum Dare and the first one I have done on my own computer in my own home (long story). I really hope you enjoy playing my game as I put a lot of effort into it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#482Humor2.27
#577Fun2.75
#622Overall2.85
#720Audio1.78
#778Innovation2.45
#782Graphics2.32
#822Mood2.25
#928Theme1.95
#1329Coolness37%

Comments

Inso says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Cool game. I finished it, that's nice to repeat something, brainless mode enabled ^^

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Really good game! The only thing that could make it better would be better graphics and some music! :)

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30pm

This game REALLY REALLY makes me excited. The concept is amazing and the mechanics are interesting. The sound is good and the art is charming.

Really all this needs is a little polish / balancing. The "life" mechanic is just a bit weird because most of the time I end the level because I'm beaten quickly and my two lives I saved become useless (so I started using them as a resource e.g. intentionally spending down to 1 to get more coins)

It needs a bit of a learning curve (the first few times I played I died almost instantly and had no idea what to do) and the fact that the spacebar is the one and only control needs to be a bit more clear.

I'd love it if you could see your enemy on the map rather than just the mini-map at the top right.

It'd be nice to see total coins in addition to / instead of coins gathered this level.

Plus (although it'd be unreasonable to expect this in 48 hours) this game is so extendible! You could have multiple levels, more items to collect / avoid (maybe enemies that move towards you / "bags" of gold or gold bars worth more). Oh man I'm excited just thinking about it.

End of the day I would 100% certainly pay ~$0.99 or whatever for a polished mobile version of this. I seriously hope you use this as a base and take it to the next level! Excellent job. :)))

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Really fun game :) Maybe some more powerups. But it's presented really nicely :)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Fun game, though the lower upgrades should be less expensive while the ultimate speed, which is an automatic win, should be more so. Good job!

Jago says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Nice concept and the gameplay was simple. Audio sounded a bit harsh in my opinnion but not that bad. Ended up grinding money for god knows how long =D

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Fun game, the upgrade mechanic kept me hooked until I finished the game.

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:15am

The core gameplay, but probably needs a little bit more complexity as time goes on, so the player doesn't get bored. It'd probably be better if the upgrades changed how the game played, rather than just adjusting the stats slightly. But good job on getting a html5 game working on mobiles, I played on ipad, and it worked very well - although tiny! :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:39pm

I was surprised I only needed one slow curse, turned out I had enough speed boosts. It would be nice if the player had some say in how fast he's going, so that it doesn't depend purely on what upgrades you have. Otherwise great game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]