December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Budgetstorm 300

by srimech - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I've gone for something a bit simpler this time. It's an x-scrolling shoot-em-up and should take about 1 minute to complete.

It works best in Chrome. Audio currently doesn't work in Internet Explorer, and Firefox can pause for a few seconds on startup while it computes a collision detection table.

Small enemy sprites were generated with http://tmtg.net/ludumdare/spritegen/
Music generated by autotracker.py by Ben "GreaseMonkey" Russell.

Thanks for any feedback! I may not be able to respond for 24 hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#22Theme4.05
#155Innovation3.50
#169Fun3.40
#181Humor3.13
#306Overall3.25
#587Audio2.33
#645Graphics2.65
#699Mood2.47
#1358Coolness36%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:53pm

I loled about the idea of having just one bullet. Also the yoyo mechanic was very nice implemented. Congratulations.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Ha ha, those damn bureaucrats and their budget cuts! I loved the explanation and their solution and then it actually worked really nicely gameplay wise too.

Simple graphics and sound but funny, solid and good fun to play. Nice job.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:46am

This was funny stuff I had a ball of a time x3

pinion says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Loved the springy bullet and the budget. Especially the 300 in the title instead of 3000.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Very nice concept, and graphics! Love it

multikorv says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Nicely implemented! A bit hard to control, but still quite fun. Also fits nice with the theme.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:07pm

I really loved the idea! Nice work!!

moop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Cool idea and it was fun to play. I was slightly sad that the fun way to play (swinging the bullet at the enemies without retracting) seemed less effective than the boring method of firing in a straight line and immediately retracting.

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Cool bullet concept -hard to get the hang of at first, but makes for really interesting game play. Good stuff!

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Really neat mechanic, a lot of fun! :)

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Haha, nice game. Did not expect a giant crab with magnets.

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:35pm

The liked the game and defeated the evil boss (had to replay), but figured out the second time that the yoyo aspect really punished y-movement as it pulls down fire rate unless you catch it immediately. So second time around I simply avoided y-movement at all cost and it became much easier. Thus I would suggest to either have enemies move vertically at the left side of the screen more often and more aggressively, or to give the yo-yoing some positive effect so it can be used more as an asset. Or both. Nice game though.

Muciojad says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Nice idea and funny game, it's quite hard :D

garygreen says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:19pm

The elastic bullet idea was great! :-) And using it as a slingshot added an extra nice touch to the game. I couldn't defeat the magnetic crab boss though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]