December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape Of The Red Gem

by 97%Awesome - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a magical red gem that has to escape a ruin, and you only have one day to do it!
Controls: a(left),d(rigth) and space(fly/jump).

EDIT:There is one place whwre you have to use the bad collision detection to jump up(it looks like it is one block to high but it is possible).
the red stuff is only to help you find your way not to collect.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#550Innovation2.83
#739Fun2.50
#757Humor1.57
#760Graphics2.38
#771Theme2.39
#851Overall2.53
#856Mood2.15

Comments

KEFIR says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Really interesting mechanics! I never sow anything like this before. Good looking graphics. It was pretty hardcore!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Got to a point where i could'nt figure out how to make the jump. But i like the jump mecanic :).

seantheartist says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:20pm

very original movement, I liked trying to figure out how the gem moved and what it's jump capacities were. I also like the feel of the art and colors.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Movement was a bit slow for my liking, but the game definitely works. :)

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Short game, it never really got difficult. It seems like you have to use the go into blocks thing to make some of the jumps. It would have been nice with something to make the game more interesting like a boss or some spikes.

rnlf says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:24pm

At first I though, wow, only 14.7K, the download must be broken! But in fact, it worked. Astonishing.

I like what you managed to do with only so small a download. Also difficulty was a bit high for my liking (tried twice and failed miserably).

Two annotations: First, what others have pointed out, you can move into blocks if you approach them in an unfavorable direction. Second, if you hold the space bar, you don't regain magic charge nor does your descent slow down, while, if you only tap the spacebar in mid-air, you can almost (but not quite - nice balancing btw) hover. It'd feel better to me if you regained charge even when holding the space bar (and then spending it directly on flying again). But that's just my opinion.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Despite the movement overall being a bit slow, I've never played a game with this kind of control. It actually felt pretty cool to go off a ledge and then fly up later on to reach a ledge far off or to tap the fly button and hover at a fixed height.

Incredibly rewarding game. Well done!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Movement was a bit slow, but the platforming was great.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:08pm

pretty hardcore, but funny ;) i wasn't able to collect the red pixels, or aren't they supposed to be collected?

ColeSlawGames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:08pm

I really like the jumping mechanics in this! It's pretty unique, and it'd be cool to see it expanded upon further. The art style is really nice as well. I like how the background changes color as time moves on.

I think there's a point that I can't get past, though. The dots lead me to a platform that is to high for me to jump onto, and there's no other platform that I can get on to help me out.

Otherwise, pretty neat game!

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:53pm

The idea with the charge for going up works well, but there isn't enough diversity in the content. It does require some cool platforming thinking though.

sknoslo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:58pm

I really liked the art style. Interesting platforming mechanics, that really made me concentrate on my timing. Good work.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:20pm

I liked your level design, it was fun making my way around the castle and there were some good little platforming segments. The guide dots were a nice touch.

Quite an odd jumping mechanic, I wasn't sure if I was using it right or sort of glitching it some of the time and the movement was maybe a little slow and floaty for my liking?

The way you used the sun in the background and the sky colour changing to show the day passing and the time limit coming up was cool too.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Nice flying mechanic. Loved how the sun passed on the background so you could see the passing of the day. I suppose i lost because the whole game turned black and i couldn't continue.

VAMflax says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Really cool. I got stuck, but that's just me!
Nice work! :D

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Cool little game!

Cbeed says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:34pm

The game has so much potentially. Double the resolution, use less aggressive colors, add some basic sounds and add acceleration to the gravity.
This would be so litte work and would double the fun.
Also the sun could move fluid.

occash says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Nice mechanics! But I couldn't jump from on level on the wall to another, becuase there was really big gap between them. But overall-it's very good idea!I like it!

Zuige says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Very simple. There were some physics issues with the player getting stuck in walls and framerates dipping quite low for such a simple game. Good effort!

glovecat says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:07am

Good concept but it needs some work. Nice platform design but I feel that it is a little slow. Good job!

stvr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Surprisingly fun but a bit frustrating. Got stuck fairly early on, which was a shame.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Felt that the motion was way too slow and the jump mechanic made some parts of the scene pretty difficult but a good start none-the-less :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]