December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Key by Key

by stefan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my second time taking part in a Ludum Dare. This great contest made my finish my second and fourth game :) Obviously, these games are quite small and only have a few levels and so on (I guess you know what I mean), but I hope you will like it nevertheless.

In this game you have to open locks with the corresponding keys hidden in the dungeons. There are several locks in most levels, but you only get one key. Therefore, you will need several tries for most levels, but you will see.

I'm looking forward to reading your comments on whether you like the game or not. In either case I would appreciate if you could tell me what can or should be done better the next time. Thanks for playing, rating and commenting.

Controls:
- mouse for selecting levels
- arrow keys for moving
- escape to leave a level

Remember, you only get one key ;)

I mainly used the following tools: Eclipse Orion, pixi.js, Tiled, The Gimp, Bfxr, inudge

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#137Audio3.30
#267Theme3.29
#379Overall3.16
#386Graphics3.13
#424Fun2.96
#502Mood2.75
#610Innovation2.74
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:05am

pretty cool! I liked the game's size and style. Nice colors

Inso says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Cool game !

Difficulty increasing at a decent speed, I liked it.
Game was cool overall, well done !

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Nice take on the theme.
Would have liked a key to reset to avoid moving back to the mouse, but I may just be lazy.

bspa says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Nice game, but it gets a bit slow after the fourth level. Would recommend not reverting back to the menu after solving one lock.

GingerMess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Nice game! Going back to the menu after each key seemed odd, I would have expected to solve all locks before being given the next level.

dekart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:36pm

I like the style and the soundtrack. well done!

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:23pm

I only got to level 5 :(

It felt boring overall, since it was only a 'fetch' game, with barely any difficulty. On level 5 it seems to expand, but then you only get a bigger map where you can't really see the whole picture, so you have to find which keyhole/key is really accessible before you grab a key.

Lack of Audio doesn't help either, and I can't really understand why the repeat-levels-but-they're-easier thing exists XD

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:09am

The game's take on the theme was great, I liked the graphics and music, and the hat was quite comfy.
I like it! :D

eli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Awesome game!!
The music is really wonderful and adds a whole lot.
The walk animations (and hat!) are pretty good.
I thought the puzzles were a bit simplistic, and progressed by simply making it take longer for each level. But when I found you could revisit the changed levels, it felt really good. They were easier than the first time, but I really like the idea that the player is acting to permanently remove all color from the world. It feels like untying a knot.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Interesting game!

foumart says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:14am

I'm looking at your third level and think how you could improve this game. That third level alluded some puzzle notes to me. Maybe instead of increasing the keys, try to increase the colored locks in a kind of more variative dungeon (but not as big as the huge level). The goal could be to examine the one possible way to the exit, with the addition that when you take a key you can unlock all and only the same-colored locks with it. if you can unlock all of the chosen color locks you'll be able to take another color key and so on until you reach the exit. hope that makes sence.

Muciojad says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Awesome! It's very challenging, I had a lot of fun with your game. Good job! BTW in Chrome tiles didn't show, but in Mozilla everything is ok ;)

taocayo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:16am

Good game. I liked the progression on the difficulty levels. Would have liked to stay on each level, or a reset button instead of going back to the menu every time :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:21am

Well as noted above me.. the idea of doing the same again in level which is easier than last time.. isn't enjoyable/fun for long ;-)

van noctar says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:47am

Good gameplay! Fun and innovate :D

Jishenaz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:06am

It was easy at first, but later it does make you think which key to get first. The in-game music was cool.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Clever and decently fun, but I'd definitely speed up the character a little. It was just so painful how slow he walked.
I'd also echo a few other folks and say that it felt a bit strange to go back to the main menu after the first lock.

Raphy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Nice concept with repetitive but nice music. My biggest concern is that the level design could have been a bit more challenging in some levels.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]