December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Landfall

by triforcespark - 48 Hour Compo Entry

To all people in the coastal areas, you only get one day to evacuate.
Para sa mga taong naninirahan sa dalampasigan, mayroon lang kayong isang araw upang lumisan.

This would be my tribute to the Yolanda/Haiyan victims, and this game aims something - to inform other people of natural calamities.
Ito ay isa sa mga aking alay sa mga nasalanta ng bagyong Yolanda, at ang larong ito ay ginawa upang magkaroon ng kaalaman ang sangkatauhan sa mga kalamidad.

To anyone who would play this game, it'd be preferable if you'd donate to Yolanda/Haiyan victims.
Maari pong mag-ambag tayo para sa mga nasalanta.

(Also, pressing DOWN during the end increases your score. This is just a debug feature.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#138Mood3.42
#228Theme3.38
#396Audio2.72
#550Innovation2.83
#651Graphics2.63
#762Overall2.68
#926Fun2.09

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:08am

Love your concept. A great cause to raise to raise money for.

aayars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:14am

Using Mac, sorry...

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:30am

I can't open

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46am

I love the mood that this game has. It's very somber, if simple.

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:49am

Gameplay isn't anything special, but the graphics and sound work together to communicate the message and help us understand the disaster.

TaleLore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:36am

Boring gameplay but it carries a message.

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:37am

It's not exactly "fun" as such, but very original and an interesting way to raise awareness for this cause.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:16am

I felt awful for ignoring the "1 left" household and going to the "5 left" nests to rack in more points :(... guess i would be an awful disaster worker

Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:41am

I really respect you for making a game about a cause that obviously means a lot to you. Well done and keep up the good work.
As far as the actual game goes, I really liked the powers, but it took me awhile to realise they were even apart of the game. Overall, pretty cool. :)

drkrunk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:11am

This is very well done and a nice tribute to raise awareness for the cause. I liked the gray tones and music, it only added to the very depressing atmosphere.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:56am

Really great cause *applause*. Very nice entry, well done.

ocathalain says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:51am

I really like the idea of using games to raise awareness for natural disasters, and how we can help the victims. Really good concept and take on the theme.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:12pm

i like the concept, gj

mortus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Sad and noble theme for a game, but a simple gameplay. Which kind of supports the theme.

Muciojad says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Amazing. Really. I love this idea, and basic gameplay great suit to it.

Sean Noonan says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Really great game. Super grim though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]