December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hide The Baby

by Nick Weihs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In 1979 China introduced a one child policy. Families that have more than one child are forced to pay devastating fines.

You are a single mom in Shanghai who has recently had a second child. Somehow you managed to keep it a secret from the authorities.

However, your neighbors have been complaining about the sounds of crying in the night...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
Humor4.36
#19Overall4.00
#27Fun3.85
#43Innovation3.91
#47Audio3.64
#55Mood3.72
#58Theme3.79
#122Graphics3.82

Comments

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Great music and I like the art. I like how it plays with your expectations :) SPOILER: I wasn't able to figure out any combination to save the baby, is that the message or am I just messing up :P Great job!

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13pm

You can actually save the baby, it's just sort of random which combinations work (I was very very sleep deprived when I came up with some of the combinations)

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Innovative, excellent graph and sounds/music, humour, mood... I <3 everything! A fantastic entry, congratulations!

MarGolith says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:58pm

My son and I enjoyed playing this. We finally saved the baby! Yay! The music was nice, not irritating. I like the simplicity of the game. The puzzle aspect kept us coming back for more. Great job!

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Really creative use of the theme, very funny. Like many of the others, I couldn't quite find a winning combination, but it was fun nonetheless. Good work!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Fantastic game. Really funny, great use of the theme. Actually managed to pass on my first play and then went back to play a few more times (couldn't find any other combos that work, maybe publish a list or video after the compo is over?)

pighead10 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Hilarious game! I finally managed to disguise my baby.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:37am

rofl. fun game. :-)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:38am

Funniest game I've played in a long time, we need expansions with more items and funny lines to go with them. Well done

minibutmany says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:40am

This is the best game I have played so far.
Really excellent attention to detail, I like how when you have multiple hats on they stack very neatly. Very fun and funny, I probably spent at least 8 minutes playing this game.

Zekyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:41am

Is really hard to find a valid combination, I like it, the music and the art are also awesome. I like the way that the game was used as a satire.
I'm also very impressed at the thought that this was done by only one person in 48 hours, very good job!

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:44am

Stellar.

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:44am

Haha! Good job

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:35am

Many laffs were had. Good work.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:39am

Very creative interpretation of the theme! Totally hilarious, too. AND the music is good! Good stuff!

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:29pm

really funny game liked the idea well done

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:27am

That was pretty funny. I liked the take on the theme, and the dressing up part was hilarious. Really nice work!

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:42am

really nice! i love it! the combinations are hilarious, really had a nice time playing this one. good job!

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:27am

This is spot on. This is one of the funniest games I've played. Good luck.

chardish says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:53am

The one-child policy is one of the most heinous human rights violations of the modern era. It is directly responsible for infanticide, forced abortion, child abandonment, and mandatory sterilizations. Yes, you can use games to talk about these tough issues, but this game just treats them as fodder for Three Stooges-esque slapstick jokes.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Great art I love the graphics. Nice game !

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:48am

I agree with you chardish, I just think that putting something as absurd as the one child policy into an absurd context is an appropriate way to stage things for further discussion.

brmassa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:36am

VERY good. rather short, but great. It would be great to see a number indicating how many good endings you can get.

the cartonish style is great

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:37am

Hmmmmmmmmmm .............

Diptoman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:25pm

It's amazing you implemented the theme with that one-child policy. And disguising it was pretty fun.
Some absurd disguises were really funny when the inspector came- "As you can see this is not a baby, it's clearly written on it's forehead" I died laughing at that part xD
Did manage to get one right combination and saved the family. All in all, a pretty promising entry.

mmickyman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Ahah, didn't find the winning combinaison, but got a laugh.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]