About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 21 hours, 29 minutes, 26 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 21 hours, 41 minutes, 26 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 22 hours, 29 minutes, 26 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Cat Gentlemans Play: Insult Spinner 10 Cents - RobotLovesKitty - Jam Entry

    We are @robotloveskitty and we had a blast making this!

    Two cat gentlemen, insults, honor, one chance to aim and one bullet to settle their dispute! Who will win? you decide!

    A two player VS QWOP-Like insult slinging dueling pistol game.
    -Instructions-
    The two buttons (QW or OP) do it all, from spinning the insult wheel, controlling the glove arm, walking your ten paces, and then aiming your arm. May the best gentlemans win!

    You can play by yourself and we will both be very impressed by your skills!

    (We also updated and fixed that glove slapping section to make things more fair, and you can't shoot after your dead.)

    View RobotLovesKitty's journal. | View all entries by RobotLovesKitty

    Ratings

    Humor(Jam)4.62
    Coolness56%
    #10Fun(Jam)4.07
    #32Innovation(Jam)3.72
    #37Overall(Jam)3.84
    #38Mood(Jam)3.81
    #83Audio(Jam)3.51
    #159Graphics(Jam)3.70
    #274Theme(Jam)2.74

    Comments

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:31am

    I find Reginald harder to slap with for some reason but overall a great experience and it was nice to watch you stream a bit(I was bourbonbrick in the chat). I love the graphics.

    vinull says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19am

    At first I feared this was a QWOP clone, but I like that you cannot fall over. That said, I did shoot myself in the foot the first time.

    torcado194 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19am

    HAHA wow this is pretty funny!

    Danman9914 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24am

    Hilarious! Unfortunately it is unbalanced favoring player 1 in the slap match. It is also very difficult to get the shot off the first time. Overall: humorous and fun.

    deathray says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31am

    Haha! The slapping was really enjoyable, and the whole thing was fun.

    RhysD says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38am

    Awesome fun! Best part is easily the glove slapping.

    ColeSlawGames says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38am

    Oh my god.

    It's obvious that you were going for the humor category here, and by Jove you've done outstanding. The game took forever and a half to load, but I'd be lying if I said it wasn't worth it.

    It's unfortunate that I didn't have a friend nearby to play this with me, because I'm sure we would've had a grand ole time with this. I can't tell which part I like more: the absurdity of the glove slap-off, or the ridiculous way the characters shimmy their way towards the lamp poles before firing off a round.

    I clicked on this game expecting to be thoroughly entertained, due to the screenshot, and I thank you for not disappointing.

    conormn says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54am

    Absolutely delightful ol' chap!

    whiteknife says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00am

    Any game with gentleman cats and duck ladies gets five stars from me. I love that it's multiplayer too, well done!

    ehtd says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04am

    The slapping was the best! Great job!

    JoeProgram says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:05am

    There's some real player narrative going on here. In the third act, by tapping the keys rapidly, you can simply dance a tidy jig to the tune rather than all that gunshot business.

    Be sure to check out the other gentleman slapping contest game(?!?): http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=30068

    DrPrettyPatty says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12am

    From one gentleman game creator to another: good show! This made me laugh so hard!

    EatThePath says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32am

    I love everything about this. Everything.

    Lustdante says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:18am

    If this game doesn't score #1 in Humor I don't know what to believe anymore.

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:19pm

    Hilarious. I am going to show this around at work ;)

    Coblynau says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:35pm

    Bizarre, and damn that cat is hard to slap! ;)

    oldmanbiles says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:12pm

    Spent 10 minutes laughing. Lovely little game.

    Vi-King Games says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:22am

    That... *sniff* was beauuutifulll!! *wipes away single tear of joy*

    taocayo says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:24am

    Need to step out, but I'm coming back for more!!! Amazing game! Glove slapping was my favorite :D

    dekkuran says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:27am

    Loved it! :D We couldn't manage to kill each other even once though.

    Udell Games says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:30am

    Brilliant!

    Lacutis says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:40am

    Loved it, really funny. Interesting take on the theme.

    Pitzik4 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:01am

    This game is very funny, I really liked the visuals. Having the gloves flap around without hitting anything in the slapping part makes it even better.

    LTPATS says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:09am

    This was hilarious, loved it! I like that this is a two-player game that can still be played by a single person.

    jsspiegel says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:31am

    Fantastic! I hope to achieve this level of uniqueness and creativity in a future jam!

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:38am

    This game is soooo funny! LOVED IT! I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/EqAXn91dGLM

    DanielSnd says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:38am

    Really, really funny!

    kunzbe says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04am

    Funniest entry I've have seen til now.
    I also like the animation style. Montypython-ish

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:17am

    ...good idea, but i dont get some fun. gj anyway

    philhassey says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:49am

    Hahah, great!

    Several says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:49am

    Kudos on the humor! For me, the sound is what makes the slapping bit so excellent.

    Although opening with insults is perfect thematically, the interaction for the insult spinner doesn't really work. Makes for a good screenshot, though.

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09am

    Best game I played so far man, i was so funny, my brother and I played, a multiplayer game in here is kinda really rare, we laughed a lot !

    Chaoseiro says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:18am

    I wish I had someone to make my glove travel to his face at a dangerous speed :P

    burlapjack says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:33am

    Very funny. I could see this as a stand-alone game with even more gentleman fight action. Huge fan of you all, btw. :)

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:33am

    Thanks so much for the comments!! it's the best feeling when people enjoy something you've made.

    angryfacing says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:56am

    Funny game. Enjoyed it a lot! :)

    carlsommer says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:16am

    To echo the entire Ludum Dare community's thoughts-this is brilliant!!! I noticed that it was easier to slap with Franklin, and others said Reginald, so maybe it all evens out in the end : )

    JaymeeMak says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:30am

    This was really funny! The controls are kind of difficult, but I get that you were going for a QWOP-like feel, and that works too. The theme wasn't very obvious, though.

    kirbytails7 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:33am

    Heheheheh...The blend of animals, chivalrous things, and ridiculous animations works really nicely. Very fun!

    Lissar says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:50am

    I demand online co-op!

    Jgpicatoste says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:49am

    Haha, that was great. Really innovative and well executed!

    finefin says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:29am

    hahaha that was pretty grotesque :) very nice!

    lilinx says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:27am

    awesome

    David Colson says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:30am

    Hilarious game, great idea as well

    Gamelabbers says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:53am

    Awesome :) I like the glove slapping physics, waiting to drop to the correct position for full slapping impact. Not very realistic, but then again... a tiger fighting a cat in waistcoats... shooting eachother, totally sweet. The only real critical point I have is the choice of pantaloons! :P

    Hypnohustla says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:00am

    Such a fun game with some nice Photoshopping. :)

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:06am

    Love it. REALLY love it.

    ponk says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:11pm

    Cool game !

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:43pm

    This game is hilarious, very good job :)

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:37pm

    Utter brilliance. No more need be said sirs. I had fun mastering my glove slap technique, and the final shot is a perfect punctuation to play. Best gentlecats dueling sim ever.

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:37pm

    HIlarious xD Loved it

    Pol says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:41pm

    Holy shit, this is hilarious.

    Daniel Debert says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:56pm

    Online version would be funny.

    occash says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:18pm

    So nice game)

    Novodantis says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:52pm

    I say! Spiffingly funny!

    AzzaMat says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:18pm

    This is amazing!

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:22pm

    THIS IS THE GREATEST THING EVER.

    Atmospherium says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:26pm

    This is amazing! It's everything I want from a game.

    Jellycakes says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:26pm

    That was pretty hilarious, especially when the characters starting walking to the opposite lamp posts. Probably one of the weirdest and craziest games I've played so far. Really nice work on this!

    megaelliott says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:30pm

    This is funny as hell man! Such gentleman, very man to man brawl! Aint nothing better than slapping that guy you really hate in the face with a glove!

    Daveloper says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:22pm

    I say, jolly good fun.
    Only feedback would be that the glove physics were a bit finicky, otherwise fun two player game

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:39pm

    lol

    npgames says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:10pm

    Slapping concept was amazing, felt great getting a doubleslap!

    dudsen says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:22pm

    I have no idea what i just played, but i played it 23 times. Tears in my eyes from laughing.
    Well made, sir(s) :)

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:36pm

    Really fun and was very thought through at each stage, good luck!

    jerombd says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:58pm

    Pretty fun, even if I played alone^^

    Riilu says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:11pm

    Fun game, but it sadly didn't follow the theme. I hearthily enjoyed it anyway, it was fun and interesting to play. :)

    4/5

    recursor says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:48pm

    I love the graphics and the wacky game play. I found myself inadvertently smiling during the slapping duel. This is absolutely hilarious! Bravo I say! Bravo!

    Tex Killer says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:49pm

    Original!

    alwaysinbeta says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:08am

    Splendid!

    rogueNoodle says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:22am

    Silly in all the right ways. And my girlfriend appreciated the that it went in her favor playing as Franklin ;)

    Korwegian says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:46am

    I get mistaken for a kitten all the time :/

    lasagnegames says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:51am

    Delightful graphics, hilarious and refreshing. One of the funniest games of the Ludum!!!

    Bcadren says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:56am

    This...is great in a YouTube Poop kind of way.

    Broxxar says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:39am

    Best game I've played. The multiplayer experience was amazing.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:03am

    Very funny game. Me brother really enjoyed smacking me around. Oh and also we slapped each in the game too.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:14am

    Beautifully stupid! <3 SO MUCH LUV FOR YOU GUYS ! <3
    You made my day!

    somepx says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:12am

    Final. Scene. Amazing. Excellent @RobotLovesKitty!

    iiechapman says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:21pm

    This game is crazy. The kind of game where you want more crazy. I like that it is two player.

    Romaing says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:46am

    Really fun, especially the part with the glove :D
    I also like the graphics and the idea, simple, but well done.
    Nice Job !

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:43am

    Insanse. Unforgettable.

    Moosefly says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:22pm

    Really enjoyed playing this with a friend, we had a great time.

    Aesthetically and technically pleasing, easily the best game I've played so far.

    JohnnySix says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:12pm

    +1 for glove slapping. The walking was hilarious, more so if you're trying to control both at the same time.

    ploogle says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:18pm

    This is my favorite game of this whole Ludum Dare. Not even an exaggeration.

    I beg you, develop more minigames for it and release on Steam. My friends would burn an effigy of Mario Party if we could have something this dapper.

    Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:27am

    Laugh riot, absolute laugh riot...jolly good show old sport.

    Cipher says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:45am

    Loved it! The slapping felt immensely satisfying xD

    havana24 says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:23pm

    Ahah so funny, I really liked it! :)

    local minimum says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:25pm

    Very nice and simple little game! Dueling has never been this fun.

    Harsay says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:07pm

    rofl

    Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:21am

    Hilarious!

    juaxix says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:11pm

    You sir, have the msot funniest game i ever played this year 2014 :D

    vapgames says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:55pm

    Brilliant!

    yosh says ...
    Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:07pm

    Awesome game!

    supremefist says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:30am

    Really loved it! Well done!

    Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:06pm

    I made a video on this game. Take a look if you want.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cyCWs6VJnAs

    Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:50pm

    Haha well done! ^^

    savethejets1 says ...
    Jan 7, 2014 @ 4:41am

    Man this was awesome!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]