December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stabby game

by woftles - Jam Entry

Used to test framework written for another project.

Goal of the game is to kill the red guy. You'll see him.
Guards with guns are placed inconveniently around the area.
Stab them.

You get one bullet to aid you in your quest.
Don't waste it.

Also you get some nice music if you win.

Note: You might notice some greyed out guards on your map. That's overlap from adjacent rooms. I didn't connect the maps properly due to time constraints.

http://ruddev.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#114Graphics(Jam)3.92
#130Fun(Jam)3.29
#134Mood(Jam)3.32
#139Innovation(Jam)3.25
#183Theme(Jam)3.08
#188Overall(Jam)3.26
#307Audio(Jam)2.73
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:53am

It's fun, but the framerate is terrible. 8 FPS for a 2D game? Really? Framerate aside, this game is pretty good.Add sme more mechanics, like pickups, and I wouldn't mind paying for it.

ryann says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:55am

I like the use of lighting to expose different rooms of the level. It was a little more difficult to stab people than I would have liked it to be. Some of the sound effects are a little distracting.

0x0961h says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:27am

Very stylistic graphics and interesting mechanic. Though, technical part is need to be imporved. But anyway, good job! :)

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:48am

cool monaco style. fun for a bit. ran fine on my macbook pro about 40fps. sound wasnt great but was better than nothing.

jongtao says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:55am

Reminds me of Metal Gear. Gameplay is good, although it had a lot of framerate drops.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:00am

Very nice concept, but for me the framerate were a bit of problem too.

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:08am

The gameplay is fun but the framerate ruins the experience.

Lyje says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:05am

Graphics and atmosphere are amazing, love the lighting! Very tricky though, and fairly punishing given you have to restart the whole level on death.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:36am

I feel that this game is a bit too unfair. I like the concept (heck I did a very similar one) but it needs to be balanced and polished.

danbo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:02am

Really lovely lighting, looking forward to whatever this'll be once you optimize it!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:08pm

The style and smoothness really seem to be the strong points of the game. Considering all the games with really bad collision handling around here (not meaning to offend anybody.. :P) this was a real pleasure.
I encountered low FPS rates (~20) in some rooms as well, you should work on that if you want to use the same framework for later projects, but other than that it makes a great first impression.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Love the lighting engine! Shame it runs a bit poorly :(

Daveloper says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Nice top down shooter, sound effects matched well to the visual design. functionally correct as well, didn't find any bugs.

jarnik says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Interesting concept!
I suck at fast top-down action, so I didn't even get to the red guy. The movement momentum felt a bit strange, also in some more complex rooms the fps dropped to 14 fps (on i7 8core), but the shading looked brilliant, love it!

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Quite nice game!
The lighting looks great!
The 4th room had a bit of an issue on the framerate while the two guards were alive.
All in all pretty good work! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]