December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get one stone

by Vladp995 - Jam Entry

The game was written in c++ using the SDL library under 72 hours.
Sorry to all the linux / mac users, I still didn't compiled it on your systems, I will try to get a vm asap, or If someone could do it for me I would be grateful.

About the game creation:
Ok, so I can finally say that I'm done.. though I only finished to the point of a playable game, no real balance, good graphics or sound were added to the game.
At first I was going to submit my game to compo, but the game was just floating in the air and I could not just publish it like that, so I had to take that extra day.
By the end of the jam I added some reasonable graphics and balance to make up the game and was ready to submit it, the game is still not where I wanted it to initially be so I'm going to continue working on it at least until I can call it a complete game.

About the game:
So the game is an idle game.
The game saves automatically upon exit.
You start with only one stone, and you build mines and research new upgrades, to help you discover and mine new ores.

Left click - Select a Tile
Click the green up arrow - upgrade the mine/research
??? means you need to unlock it via research
BOTTOM LEFT - go to the research page

Mostly the game is self explanatory except the research button in the lower left side of the screen.
Feel free to suggest ideas and balance changes, they are all gladly welcome.

New version 1.1:
-many bug fixes and small rebalance
-saves ore amount in long long now instead of long (no old save support, please delete saveFile manually)
-small hint icons were added to spot mines you can upgrade more easily

ABOUT THE MISSING DLL -
some people get this error, I've added a rar with the fix, you will have to install the redistributable package from microsoft for visual studio, just download the rar, there is a readme

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#279Fun(Jam)2.81
#315Humor(Jam)2.16
#387Overall(Jam)2.81
#416Theme(Jam)2.32
#440Mood(Jam)2.35
#446Innovation(Jam)2.33
#455Audio(Jam)1.70
#507Graphics(Jam)2.04

Comments

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:48am

I really have no idea what to do. Still, writing an LD game in C++ using SDL is impressive!

ryann says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:36am

Got your game idling in the background on my system. Funny little take on the idle games. Good job finishing something with SDL.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:41am

A little confused but Im impressed of what you were able to do with only c++. I mainly write in c++ but said screw it for this competition, too difficult for me.

Pitoum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:02am

Well, great job finishing it. I'm not such a fan of this kind of game, but you managed to create a sympathetic one!

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:41am

Good work making an idle game. Not many people in LD gonna have the balls to try that! Plays well (still playing after an hour)

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:56am

Thanks everybody, glad some of you liked it.
Playing it now as well, fixing and rebalancing stuff on the way (already found some major bugs..).

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:41am

Couldn't run because MSVCP110 was missing

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:06pm

@David Colson - sorry about that, I hope I've solved the error, I've added a rar with the fix.
Let me know if anything else wrong.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Surprisingly fun/relaxing in a cookie clicker way. A great game to just leave at the background and check back every once in a while (which I translated to mood points). The graphics are total programmer art, but at least you can tell what everything is.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:50pm

At first it doesn't seems that much fun, but it is addictive! lol

Well done!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I'm still playing the same game I started during the stream. Holy fuck this game is long, so many upgrades and minerals. I'm officially addicted now I guess.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Also I'm getting over 4 million stone per tick COME AT ME BRO

Was worth the while it took to get working.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:26am

I finally got the "Unknown" upgrade, so I assume I've... won? Also racking up 32,8 million stones a tick.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:25am

In ur game, clickin' ur minerals!

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Wow, I've never expected such positive feedback :D
Thank you very much.
By the way the remastered version has some new stuff to offer, also I'm working on a newer version with more features like precious gems and mine enchantments ;)

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Want me to help with the remastered version? I could do graphics & audio, maybe toss some ideas your way. Give me a shout on the #ludumdare IRC.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:04pm

I love it! Playing it for hours! The graphics are very... style-ish. Sounds are stone. Very innovative and better than cookie clicker! I have 500 million stones per tick... I have everything maxed-out for my feeling.
I am satisfied! :D
Great job!

Atridas says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Impresive. I've always liked this kind of games, althought I miss some depth. Bold move both in genre and programming language.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]