December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

There Can Only Be One... Ninja!

by JeeshusChrist - Jam Entry

Up To 4 Player Versus or Single Player with Bots.

Gameplay Video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRsR_DTW6JI

Keyboard Controls:
WASD Movement
Spacebar Catch/Fake Death
Left Mouse Click: Shoot
Mouse: Aim

Joystick Controls:
Left Stick: Move & Aim
Right Stick: Aim
Any Other Button: Shoot (Have Shuriken)
Catch/Fake Death (Don't Have Shuriken)

Rules/Objective:
Only one weapon for all four players to fight over.
First to reach the score limit wins.
Player with least kills get Shuriken or randomly chosen between players that tie.

Student Game - First Game Jam!
Programmed and Designed By:
Joshua Louderback
Mickey Tyler
Chase Hutchens
Joshua Shlemmer

Level Design & Assests, Title Screen & Round Start Music:
Kali Wakley
In Game Music:
Michael Lane

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#240Theme(Jam)2.83
#311Fun(Jam)2.74
#349Overall(Jam)2.91
#351Innovation(Jam)2.63
#384Humor(Jam)1.93
#391Audio(Jam)2.32
#475Mood(Jam)2.16
#491Graphics(Jam)2.21

Comments

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:39am

I thought the game was fun for a couple of minutes. After about 10 levels I got bored, mostly because the AI tends to charge you even when you have the shuriken. In addition, its really hard to see the shuriken and who has it. However, I think this would be a really fun multiplayer game but I didn't play that part.

reecpj says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Screen with instructions should last for longer as it took quite a while to work out what we were doing. Other than that I thought it was a pretty good game.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:43am

Pretty fun, I'm guessing would be a lot more fun with four players. The AI was irritating as you already know. Oh well. Fun anyway, nice one.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:33am

Extra points for this being a multiplayer game. Not enough of those around.

Pitoum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:41am

Fun multiplayer game! Nice to see one of those here!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:11am

good idea for multiplayer, could make a great game with some much work ^^

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:32am

Interesting multiplayer game but a bit repetitive playing alone. But nice job!

popogames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:00am

In some levels its hard to see the shuriken, otherwise fun concept

TomboFry says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:01am

Woo! It seems we have both made a multiplayer game for gamepads :D
Very fun once you know what's going on!

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:25pm

The installer is quite annoying, also game should close when I press the x not quit to menu. After understanding how to start the game it was a bit interesting for a while.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Had fun for the first levels :) Good job.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Can't play, mac

xaedes says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:01am

Nice enjoyable game. Multiplayer with multiple controllers would be really nice =)
Keep going

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:19am

Having to use an installer is kind of a pain for someone like me going through and rating a bunch of games. This is okay because I'm probably going to keep this game installed after the compo and play it with my friends. Good job!

JeeshusChrist says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:36pm

@xaedes It supports up to four controllers. Each player can play with one or if you only have three, one player can play keyboard and mouse while the others use controllers.

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:54pm

A lot of fun! Too long installation and launch. Standalone version will be more comfortable. But idea is great! Thank you!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]