December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Synesthesia

by fullmontis - Jam Entry

You wake up in a room, realizing your senses are strange. You are blind, and you can only hear, or feel, or smell at one time. You don't know what happened to you, you only know you want to escape.

A different take on puzzle solving. You may like this if you like adventure games and exploration. Unfortunately I could only implement one room, so it is very short.

While moving blindly in the room, you will hear and smell and touch different stuff. Some is useful for escaping, other is not. You have to experiment and find out what stuff you can interact with.

Reccomended for those who like an intriguing atmosphere and exploration. Not reccomended for those expecting lots of action and flashy stuff.

Made with Game Maker.

EDIT: As requested, I added suport for WASD keys for movement.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#13Innovation(Jam)3.91
#91Mood(Jam)3.52
#98Theme(Jam)3.34
#223Overall(Jam)3.17
#257Audio(Jam)2.91
#300Fun(Jam)2.77
#353Humor(Jam)2.04
#480Graphics(Jam)2.31

Comments

madameberry says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:26am

The only suggestion I have is allow the use of WASD (or rebindable controls) if you're going to use the mouse. It was sort of annoying having to use the arrow keys with my left hand and the mouse with my right.
Other than that, I would say absolutely keep developing this. I can think of so many neat directions to take this. It would be so neat to have directional sound when you're in the Hear mode, and you actually have to listen. Ahhh I just want to see more of this! lol

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:37am

That's sort of interesting? I don't see what this has to do with Synesthesia, at all, but it's an interesting take, and disorienting. Good job.

GBolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Wish I could play the whole game, since it looks really cool, but can't get past the first level. So far so good, though.

X-0r says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:23pm

I've never seen such detailed darkness ever before^^

Great game mechanics - totally loved rolling the mousewheel =)

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Nooooo, windows only!? Any chance of a port?

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Very nice concept and idea, this one definately needs a post-compo version.

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:11pm

I really liked the game. Pity is so short. I loved the mood and the puzzle like action.

Avocado says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Pretty short, but I really liked the idea. Wouldn't mind seeing something like this expanded upon.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Wonderful idea. I love how the game gives me a feeling of discovery by making me explore without light.

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:34am

Really good idea, liked it how you can only use one sense per time and the exploration feel, hope you expand it further :P

sadiquo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:23pm

I love the concept, but the game was too short :(

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Concept was cool, definitely try to continue with this!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Base idea is great but I quickly finished it by just rotating mouse wheel each time I encounter an item.

Maybe you could make it a puzzle game by letting people switch their sense a fixed amount of time ( let's say 5 ). Player should have to improve his way of exploring on each new try.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Very cool concept, really liked to play it :) Unfortunately it's very short. The concept is very promising, keep on it!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Can't go over lvl1. Maybe because I had no mouse. But love the concept, good job :)

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:51pm

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/wp-content/compo2/308734/21736-shot1.PNG

BEST TUTORIAL EVRRRR!!! haha ^^

Love the gameplay. Pls keep on going. I want to see a final "after LD" Version with more goles or worlds ^^

Nichii says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Good job on the game. Using only 1 sense at a time is a pretty interesting concept.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:29am

I liked the mechanic a lot. As others say, there is something here worth building !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]