December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bort That Dammed Viking

by Nezzhil - Jam Entry

- Requeriments -

Windows, Web (with Unity Web Player)
Keyboard and Mouse

- The Game -

You Only Got One Viking to pillage Thep british isles. Bort Bortsson is the one-eyed viking most vicious and greedy of is frost home. And he don't need anybody more to pillage!

- Credits -

Programing:
Victor Perdomo Pastor

3D Graphics:
Ruben Lozano Marhuenda (3D Assets and Level desing)
Antonio Perdomo Pastor (3D Models and Animations)

Audio:
Ruben Lozano Marhuenda (Music)
Freesound.org (sfx): public license, 94LiliSA (C.C.Attribution License) and "Warrior Battle Chants and Shouts" Copyright 2012 Iwan Gabovitch [http://qubodup.net]
Soundbible (sfx): public license, Mike Koenig and Joe Lamb

And an extra hand of Marta Gimeno Da Silva for the localization, thanks! (excuse her for the typos on this readme, she has nothing to do with them. I submit it without her checking! :P )


- Controls -
Cursor keys / WASD: Move (game screen), select clue (inventory screen)
Left click: Attack
Left, left or Right, right: Dodge

- Gameplay -

To win points, attack the buildings to pillage them and took the precious items that they hide inside.
Return to your Drakkar (the ship) to store the points before your bag is full of points. They have weight and will slow you!
When all the buildings have been pillaged, return to your ship to advance to the next level.


- Final words... -

Thanks to our family and friends for their support, and the Ludum Dare's organization and users for made this possible.

We are very tired after 72 hours of (funny) work, so excuse us for the typos :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#66Humor(Jam)3.38
#143Fun(Jam)3.22
#170Audio(Jam)3.19
#187Mood(Jam)3.13
#204Graphics(Jam)3.44
#281Overall(Jam)3.07
#351Innovation(Jam)2.63
#542Theme(Jam)1.50
#998Coolness48%

Comments

Eric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:16am

I have no idea what the relation to the theme is but it was fun. the jumping back mechanic was a bit odd but it is a cool game

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:40am

A little bit buggy and somehow unfinished, but it was fun! Controlling the character was hard at first, but once I got it I enjoyed it. Good job.

Lyje says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:07am

Graphics are nice but combat mechanics are a little unsatisfying.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:06pm

A viking game eh? Didn't really seem to 'get it', but I like the art style very much. Feels like a blocky version of Zelda Wind Waker to me.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Cute characters and animations, enjoyable game. No theme but like it apart from getting caught in the collision a lot.

zeal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:02pm

A fun game! I killed all the villagers, destroyed every building and then fell off the terrain but I went down with a boom, I guess.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:31am

Funny game, but dont find the theme here. Gj anyway

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:14pm

I have some fun destroying everything. Nice graphics and sound. You can make a game from this, but I miss some target.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Burninating the countryside!

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:55pm

It's fun! The controls are a bit funky and I hate being unable to jump! Also, the building explosion left some loot on top of a tree, so misery to me...

Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Really funny game. I like it. I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/tnNlwxp-9J8

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]