December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One gun only

by pikkufighter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first game made in unity 3d and also my third ludum dare entry witch is fitting. I'm sorry that i haven't had time to make sound or texture. but anyways here you go guys.

move with WASD jump with space and aim and shot with the mouse. it reloads automatically. You can also pause the game by pressing "P".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#867Theme2.14
#878Graphics2.10
#892Fun2.19
#983Overall2.09
#995Innovation1.57
#1305Coolness39%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Making an FPS in 48 hours is incredible, the technical side alone makes this amazing. Some extra details would make it a lot better, although like you say the textures and 3D models take up a lot of the time which I don't blame you for leaving them out. Some gun sounds would have been good though. Managed to get launched into the air by jumping on top of the enemies which I thought was quite awesome, tried landing on top of the walls but couldn't quite make it.

Vanish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:52pm

I think this would be pretty good with a bit of polish.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Do you really think spamming Kongregate with the basest of all FPS is necessary? But to be honest, i think i'll do it too! ;) Anyway, contrary to the previous comments i don't see any achievement here (FPS in Unity is the simplest thing, you get all the code ready). But it is a game developed and published, so congrats!

pikkufighter says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:04pm

i know of the error with getting launched into the air. And also a error that make you shoot all your bullets really fast. And i'm also thinking if i can get to program this a entire weekend then i'm not going to compete in the next one.

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06pm

The technical achievement is awesome. The game needs polishing. I don't know how this fits into the theme, though.

Infin8 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Well the Feedback is currently quite weak, in that it's hard to notice that u're firing or u're hitting something.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:09pm

what is the point is taking the glock? the sub-machinegun is so much better! also try adding sounds next time, it makes a huge difference

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13pm

This would be pretty good with some sounds, textures, a little screen shake and some bullet spread. There are a lot of procedural texture tools out there which would make it a lot easier to make them in a short time.

As it stands, it's a little too basic for me to rate highly. A good first Unity effort though!

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15pm

There's something deeply satisfying about be chased down by a hoard of rabid cubes. Cool, I like it! By the way, if you like making FPSs for the web, check out PlayCanvas (I built my LD game with it). Hope you get time to work on your game some more - it's fun!

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54pm

This is cool for your first game, but let me share a few tips:

1. Changing the background would be cool, either to another color or to a skybox. Just not default.
2. Sometimes antialiasing helps!
3. It might be my imagination, but you need to change the smoothing curve for imported models.
4. http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/13/unity-devs-i-beg-you-do-not-use-standard-mouselook/

Good job at publishing a game!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:51am

Good graphics, simple but good. Dont like the concept, its only a fps more, but works perfect. Good job.

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Well, pretty standard stuff: but delivering a ludum entry is not an easy feat, congrats!

Hypermagical says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:01pm

I'm torn on whether I like or hate that the enemies are the same color as the walls. It makes them hard to spot, but I guess it counts as camouflage.

The game itself is pretty basic, but you knew that already.

ALobker says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:15am

Funny getting attack by blocks. didn't see it coming first time. Too bad seeing no bullets coming out off my glock.
The blocks can take a lot off bullets and spawn too close.

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:13pm

fun but you could have drawn a tracer bullets

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]