December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Death In One Stroke

by nicotuason - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Super-fast ninja sword thrusting action!

Mouse to move around, Left-click to thrust.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun4.24
Coolness57%
#18Overall4.01
#122Graphics3.82
#124Mood3.45
#135Innovation3.53
#246Theme3.34
#295Audio2.90
#370Humor2.55

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Super fast! Super cool! great concept for theme

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:23am

I'm with Joe on this one! Love the pixel art.
Great entry.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21am

This game is really addicting and fun. I wish I thought of this conecpt

ApoorvaJ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:28am

Fluid gameplay. That was fun.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:29am

This is awesome. It's super fun to play and looks fabulous.

Geti says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:29am

Really nice, great feeling to the game, though at times i felt like "aw bull, i totally hit that guy" ;)

Smitty333 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30am

Very Cool!

Kar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41am

Great game! Slicing enemies is super fun:) And you can also slice multiple enemies at once.

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:57am

There's an awesome feeling that gets this game beyong the awesome. Great job, I'd love to see more content in such an addictive game.
add screenshake and more blood :D

Tao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:15am

Very fluid, fast paced. Only thing that would make it better would be a score counter.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Absolutly amazing game. the idea, graphics and gameplay are very good and addictive.

aneeslol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Very stylish!

scottrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Nice work! I killed 15 samarai (on a track pad).

weazen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Awesome job with the theme! Very hard with trackpad!

chicknstu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Great little toy there. The only thing that felt a bit off about the controls was that it was constantly walking. I'd rather have been able to choose when i was walking or slashing (Maybe twin stick).

I loved the way you always knew you were done for a microsecond before it happens. I imagine it's the same with real ninjas :)

Good stuff. Top score 22.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Very fun, great concept !

It is just missing combos so you will have to cut many with one stroke instead of killing them separately.

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Really quick and fun! Quite similar with the theme of my games, but with less blood :D
Will be better if there are highscore table/achievement unlcoked for this games.

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Fluid, simple but really efficient gameplay, well done ! I killed around 25 ennemies :D

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Love the dynamics

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Excellent! Very innovative attack style, just needs music, well done! :)

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Great job. Hope you keep going with it!

niroshido says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:42pm

This is an awesome game, the speed of the game and the style in general are great, brilliant entry.

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Very addictive gameplay! My top score was 17, I'm glad no one is posting like 200 because I felt like I was really bad at it. Really great art and movement.

Deity says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15am

Fun game. I liked the graphics and animations.

The ninja seems to miss enemies while lunging sometimes though (or I'm timing the lunges incorrectly).

TheTurtal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:29am

Absolutely loved this game, great idea and simple controls. Me and my friends played it for about a hour straight.

Proud to say my high score is 96.

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:46am

God this game is so good! Fun and addicting.

murilo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Nice little game! I couldn't go past around 15 kills. Not sure it was bad collision or if it requires great accuracy to slash the ninjas. And the art is great!

xaedes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Fast game had much fun! I want highscore! =)

TheCams says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Simple and nice gameplay. It's fun to try to align the ennemies to make combos, kind of risk and reward mecanics :)

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:46pm

awesome game! sticks perfectly to the theme and is addicting as potato chips! 5/5!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:22am

This is the most fun I've had with an LD entry. Very very awesome and simple core mechanic that works wonderfully with the theme. Sprites are charming and the blood/slash is satisfying especially when racking up a nice chain of kills.

Great job!

Tim Kaldor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:07pm

I have to say that was the only LD game so far that I would actually play by choice, would love to see it fleshed out with bonus points for chaining kills and the like, but a great theme-related base mechanic really well executed. Only problems I encountered were continually clicking off-screen(cant help that in browser) and once I had a lot of enemies on screen, it felt like collision detection wasn't fully working. I got 123 kills!

syawqy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:26am

cool ninja sword slashing action!!!

cdgugler says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:47am

Really fast and fun! I like it

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:53pm

This was excellent! The FEEL was spot on, the pace, the difficulty .. the juicy particles and lovely clear graphics all conspired to make a compelling experience … 22 was my best, playing on a trackpad ;)

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:47am

Awesome idea, i like fast replays.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:35am

This is definitely the smoothed and most funniest games I played so far this LD. It is fast, it got style, it looks awesome... there is not a single second of boredom!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Pretty sweet. Could use some audio, juiciness and content. But what you have is solid!

anvoz says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:58pm

It's pretty addicting. I really love the slashing actions. My top score was 24.

Husky says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:27am

The hit and bleeding effects are cool!

GFM says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:26am

This game feels so good.
It's simple, intuitive, fun and polished? What else does it need? (perhaps a combo system for multi-kills... and a better ranking system XD)

The controls are spot on! Moving and slashing are really precise and fun! The slashing sfx just add up to everythin!

And man... I'd thought the graphics are great... but then I noticed the shadows! The graphics are amazing!

Awesome job! :D

xrm0 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Very well executed and nice graphics

somepx says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:06pm

A great entry man, 100% fun! So smooth, it's impossible to stop playing! ;)

tnerb says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Really great concept it's so much fun.

mmickyman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:17pm

WERI FUNN I LAIK ITS GAM I WAOUL BY IT IF IT KOST MONAI



Oups... sorry I got a fun stroke. I was very pleased to play this, it's fun at the start when you dash back and forth eheh.

Beavl says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:21am

Great fast paced little game. Love the just-one-stroke-to-kill-or-get-killed whole thing, it fits the theme perfectly. And hey, post compo version is looking good too! Congrats on this!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Cracking gameplay mechanic! A lot of fun, rated this very highly. Impressive work for just 48 hours!

xhunterko says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:56am

Other then the aiming being off by a bit it felt really neat!

crockid5 says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Can't believe this won, doesn't even fit the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]