December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ye Only Get One Aye

by TaleLore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the pirate Captain's trusty pirate parrot. The Captain's rival, Captain Windybottom, has blown all of the treasure off of the Captain's ship. As you fly out to collect the Captain's treasure before it sinks into the sea, Captain Windybottom is inpersonating the captain, trying to confuse you. Don't respond to any of his commands. Make sure you still respond to the Captain's commands, however.

-The left and right arrow keys control your movement
-The up arrow key will flap your wings
-Space will make you say "aye aye, Captain", but beware: you may only do so once!
-The Captain's treasure will be blown into the ocean unless you collect it. He might not notice one or two pieces gone, but if you lose three or more you lose.
-The Captain and his impersonator, Captain Windybottom, will both be yelling commands at you. If a command sounds like something the Captain, a real pirate, would say, respond with "aye aye, Captain".
-Do not respond to Captain Windybottom or else you lose!

>Written in C++ using SDL, SDL_Mixer, SDL_Image, and SDL_tff and using the Code::Blocks IDE.
>Graphics made using Paint.NET as well as the rotsprite rotation and scaling tool.
>Sound effects and dialogue done vocally and recorded in Audacity. Yarr!
>Music is a playing of the traditional hornpipe melody "The Sailor's Hornpipe" by Wikipedia user Kildwyke.(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:College_Hornpipe.ogg)
>I had some help with my code from various online sources including the LazyFoo SDL tutorials.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Audio3.67
#44Humor3.76
#298Graphics3.32
#424Fun2.96
#539Overall2.96
#559Mood2.67
#604Theme2.67
#605Innovation2.75
#965Coolness49%

Comments

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Excellent humour! Love your vocals! Yaaarrrgh!

Toki Anholmes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21pm

HA ! the sounds and the art are so juicy

kunzbe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:25am

The artstyle is nice

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Spectacular graphics! Loved the audio, too. Very funny :)

Gameplay is a bit repetitive after a very short while. For some reason no matter when I tried to say "aye aye" I lost, but when I didn't say "aye aye" nothing ever happened.

TaleLore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:40am

You have to wait until the real captain says something a real pirate would say before you say "aye aye".

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:06am

Really good stuff. Innovative, fun, nice graphics, humorous, and good use of audio. You covered yourself in all the fields by making a great game. Good stuff!

alexc says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:13am

Amazing and hilarious game, especially considering it was written in C++.

302_Dave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:20am

I like the fake out ones. :)

Yo, Ho, Ho! Merry Christmas! XD

insane66 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:57am

Gets to be a real challenge to grab all those falling treasures. Nice work overall.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:01am

The bird flight mechanics was pretty fun but I didn't get the point of having the space bar mechanic aside from conforming to the theme.

Berzee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:01am

Bwahaharrr. I hope you don't mind if I save these sound files to play at appropriate false-piratey times in my life. So good.

Regarding the gameplay, it took me a while to realize that all the items were treasure (I though I was supposed to dodge the debris/swords/hooks and catch the gold) but once I understood, it was quite manageable.

smash ball says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Almost lost it at "Eat a nutritious breakfast." Not the game, my composure. Didn't like how any key got out of the win screen. Had to beat the game again to actually read the win screen. Oh who am I kidding, that's as good of an excuse as any to replay this game.

GaTechGrad says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:09am

Cute game. The words of wisdom from the captain were great!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]