December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tether

by Absurditure - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Can you find your pet( a space jellyfish) and get it back to your ship? You will likely end up floating through space, lost and alone.

Controls:

[arrow keys] - movement (only works while touching something)
[c] - Cut your tether
[x] - Provides a short boost while floating(You only get one), use arrows to aim

[r] - Restart game


*Known bugs: Lots

--
Thank you all for the feedback! I appreciate it. Many of the suggestions are things I also wanted to add/change. I just wasn't quick enough to do it. :(

I might end up making an updated version of this game and fleshing it out a bit more.

I'll post any updates I make to my twitter account. ( @absurditure )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#95Mood3.54
#123Audio3.34
#217Graphics3.54
#450Innovation2.98
#545Theme2.79
#623Humor1.98
#697Overall2.77
#892Fun2.19

Comments

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:13am

love the color palette

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:14am

Nice mood and graphics. A little buggy and didn't know what I was to do.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16am

I love the graphics ! I really love that style of art :)

Calahagus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:18am

Interesting, but it feels like the theme should have had more prevalence in the mechanics.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:25am

This a great game. Reminds me a lot of Edmund McMillen's game "Aether", that alone in space, drifting, feeling. Amazing graphics, wonderful sounds, great calming music. Keep it up!

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:25am

Interesting take on the theme, though it was a bit too minimalist (not quite sure what I need to do or how to do it). I really liked the art and music.

Broxxar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:57am

Like others have said, awesome looking and sounding, great feel, but not really clear how to play.

Absurditure says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06am

@ Everyone. Thanks for the feedback...

There isn't very much to do in the game, but I'm not sure where people are getting stuck?
Can you move anywhere at all? Did you find the jellyfish?

Besides what wrote about the controls in the description, all I can really suggest is keep trying... Moving around is hard, but it's doable.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51am

That's so nice! *_* Did you use Hinge joints for the cable? ;p The audio as well is very immersive... I wish I could have used something like that for my entry! What did you use to make it?

Lyje says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:41am

Really nice aesthetic, sound, music and atmosphere. The concept is great, although I couldn't quite get to grips with the controls.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12pm

I almost did it! I grabbed my jellyfish, and jetted off to my spaceship, missed it by an inch, and was left floating forever...

Background could ave been a bit more interesting, but it really was a fantastic game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43pm

nice graphics, sounds and feel, although the theme doesn't really show up besides the single use boost. Could perhaps be easier to control as it's very easy to screw up.

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Really nice feeling from this game. However I didn't find the controls all that great, I felt very constricted (Which might have been the point in which case I apologize). This game really shines in the graphics and music department though!

abeing says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:18am

I dont understand the game but I like the graphics, mood and sound

Integershift says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:56am

The graphics where really good!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:47am

Very atmospheric.

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:49am

I loved it! It was a little hard at first, but I got the hang of it.

seagaia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:23am

nice ambience with being in space - i think - i feel hard to connect with the player avatar through movement. that's not a bad/good judgmnet just my feeling!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:31am

Would have been great but controls are really weird and unresponsive. Kinda nice graphics and mood, though.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:13am

I agree with others that the game has a really nice mood and atmosphere. Tough to understand how to play though. I enjoy the idea but as it is the penalty for error is too steep. It would be interesting if the level was procedural each playthrough but had more stuff to move in between. The idea of lining up and "shooting" to the next object is really cool.

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:17am

It looks great, but after running it three times and making sure I read your instructions correctly, I still have no idea what to do. Pressing the arrow keys does nothing for me, pressing x sometimes thrusts, and cutting the tether seems to be the only thing that works as expected. Maybe this game is amazing, but with completely unintuitive controls with close to zero feedback from the stated inputs, it's unplayable.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:11am

Very well done artwork and music. Good job!

lorniebear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:49am

The music was relaxing.

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:57am

Looks and sounds pretty good, though the controls are a bit strange and an indicator pointing in the general direction of your pet would be useful.

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:38am

Oh I really like this!
I found the jellyfish but was lost in space with it. will try again later. graphics and mood really pleases me. good job.

BuKaneerz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:21am

Cool atmosphere and graphics !

Therrato says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:09pm

love the setting, would recommend to try to do an intro in game menu / help section so people can find out in the game how to play it

voidqk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:05pm

4 stars across the board! very nice game, simple, great graphics, great mood... I ended up cutting the tether almost instantly -- it's a good concept, but not really necessary... perhaps some other way to make it more useful...

Gungnir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Nice idea, inertia based with the tethering. Wish the default player size was larger - and if there had been some simple tiling background element, the relative movement/speed would have been easier to read. Love to see you evolve it post comp. Something quite chill about letting yourself just float off... especially to that music.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Couldn't work it out for a while, but the music was beautiful and kept me playing for long enough to sort of figure it out. Top score audio and mood for me. Don't worry about bugs, they add 'challenge' ;p

pele says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Well done minimalistic choices. The mood is great!
Didn't get any prompt when I got back to the ship with the Jellyfish. Would be nice to receive a bit more input about the controls during the game. Controlling the character is difficult but that fits the game perfectly. Nice sounds.

burlapjack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:39pm

It's very mysterious and lonely, which is cool. I felt almost too much out of control for my liking though. Maybe if there was more space junk floating around to interact with.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:37pm

This is amazing. A perfect entry.

Halfire says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Very well done! Loved the colour palette and the audio, gameplay could have done with some work, but this is very nice :D

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Remainds me on this new movie :) Thank you for sharing this *love* And I love the pixelart style too <3

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:56pm

love the colors and the rope animation. Was kin dof lost on what I should be doing. Could have maybe used a little more tutorial but very interesting.

Several says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:37am

Neat! But also very rough! I think the biggest thing it's missing is a way to see beyond the tiny screen (e.g. by adding a minimap, the ability to zoom the camera in/out, or by adding markers on the edge of the screen to indicate relative locations & distances of debris).

Re: the confusion:

Since the game always seems to start with the player bouncing/flailing around randomly, there seems to be only one button that does anything from the start: 'c' to cut the cable. While you're attached to the cable, you can't use the boost, and seem to be unable to land on anything. So really, there's only one button to start, and it only does one thing. Once.

Since you start out bouncing around randomly and you can't really see any of the pieces that you want to latch onto, there seem to be low odds of cutting the cable and not immediately dooming yourself. So you'll finally discover the one button you can press, and cut the cable, and just end up floating forever, or until you press the reset button. There's no major game feedback that tells you that you lost, you just have to decide that yourself.

How do you decide that? By a lack objects passing by, I think. It's the same if you stay latched on. You'll see a few things pass by, and then nothing. In both cases, you've missed your chance, and you don't even know it. You don't see what you need to do.

So the confusion is probably:

- Why am I suddenly bouncing around? That looks kind of glitchy. Is it glitchy?

- Why can I only press one button? I thought there were other controls?

- Why is there so little to see? Is this a game over? Should there be more to the game?

And so forth. Those 'known bugs' don't really help, either.

I hope this doesn't come off as too negative! I'm just trying to explain my own initial confusion, and perhaps explain others' as well. Once I realized that I had a narrow window to jump onto a small collection of debris and try to scuttle across it, I quite liked the game--I'd even like to make something like it! (Or something a little more like Gravity, at least.)

Alas! Picking up the jellyfish results in the little bastard bumping into me & knocking me off debris, and I've no idea where the ship went, so I just kinda gave up.

Kudos on the graphics!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:47am

Very challenging game.

Absurditure says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:57am

Thank you all for the feedback! I appreciate it. Many of the suggestions are things I also wanted to add/change. I just wasn't quick enough to do it. :(

I might end up eventually making an updated version of this game and fleshing it out a bit more.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:01am

Awesome game, I didnt get to far into it but, I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/6i2NO94dPrk

Before Light says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:12am

I did it, found and returned. Does it mean I win? Besides great work.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:20pm

I've been trying for 5 minutes and I'm still no closer to figuring out how the hell to play this game :P

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Great atmosphere. The idea has a lot of potential. I had difficulty figuring out that the player character was the player character and what I was supposed to do, and I had difficulty making any progress. I'd be curious to see how you flesh this out.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:12am

Decent graphics and interesting atmosphere. I'm curious what this would be like if expanded upon.

eskivor says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:05am

It's the same kind of sensation as Gravity, you are lost alone in the void of the space, you don't know where you're supposed to do... the ambient sound is great ! ;)

mamoniem says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:11am

Loved everything, except never been able to succeed ;(

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Very interesting concept, but really difficult to play. Good work anyway!

diegomachado says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Excelent graphics and mood because of the music and atmosphere. Gameplay was a little confusing. I managed to get the jelly but couldn't be back home.

rezoner says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:58pm

The art looks so lovely. Wish Linux could into Unity Web Player

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:58pm

The gameplay feels a bit broken, perhaps the bugs restricted the game from communicating it's design. lesson learned!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:16am

Interesting game and idea. I think it could use some fleshing out. I couldnt figure out when to cut my tether in order to get where I needed to.
The theme seemed a little tacked on as well.
Nice graphics though! Good entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]