December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Alligator Mayhem

by midgety - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are on a planet that is to hot to survive on. Your health is depleting fast and you need to find health.

W/A/S/D to move
Mouse to shoot

Also spelled losing wrong in the game info!

Check out the timelapse of me making this game:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DX2YQgk55M4

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#491Fun2.87
#637Graphics2.67
#795Overall2.63
#1456Coolness30%

Comments

Gas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:40am

Fun game! really liked the art. the only thing is I wished there would have been sound and you could have actually survived longer and didn't have to always be looking for health! looking for votes on my game to: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=20784

midgety says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:59am

@Gas there is sound, maybe let it load like a second later after you run the game. Thanks!

Kruithne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03am

Slight bug on picking up health, but rather fun all in all! That gun made me laugh the way it rotates.

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07am

Great job on the shooting and the idea! Old school sounds were pretty cool too.

Garrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17am

The collision detection isn't working and it makes it really difficult to play. Bullets don't hit the alligators sometimes, player can't go through tight spots, and I couldn't pick up health. Also I'm not sure how the theme fits in with the game.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Fun game but I found that alligators were in short supply. :(

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:58am

Nice work putting a whole package together! I wish the alligators were more lively, though. Also ran into a couple of issues; alligators spawned before my eyes, and later I got stuck in a wall and died.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:58pm

fun game. You should make those medipack collision bigger and mayb making them last a bit longer. Not spawning back alligator give the player the feeling he can never succeed. Maybe infinite spawn + increasing life loss over time would make it feel he can survive forever.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Fun game, though I think it needs more alligators. I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/Sii3dnpSvEI

taocayo says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Nice. You only get… one gun?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]