December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jameson The Pilot

by rezoner - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have only one life - and only one cargo bay.

Space exploration sandbox. Become a trader, pirate or a bounty hunter. Instructions in link.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#6Overall4.15
#32Fun3.82
#41Mood3.80
#68Audio3.55
#108Graphics3.86
#112Innovation3.60
#268Humor2.87
#521Theme2.82

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:31am

This is an Amazing Game. It is really Fun.

tmpvar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:49am

Really good, nice job

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:06am

Excellent stuff - need to play this after recouping from the 48 hours, really like the mechanic and the depth you managed to add in such a short time.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:33am

Great! Beautiful art and sound, and felt crisp.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:36am

Woooo space game! As always you wield your music well. I'll play this a bit more after my brain's home.

crazynito says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:40am

saw it on ng now.. i like this game very much, only 2 things i could say, 1st landing on planet is too precise action, its stupid to have to go all to beginning if you miss 3 degrees. 2nd there is a planet that i can see only white rectangles circling around, it doesnt look like circle :/ hard to land on that.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:23am

wow, this is really awesome! well done, amazing you could get so much done in such little time! the graphics are so cool and the game play is neat. overall i really like it, but hard to play on a trackpad :)

Xezko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15am

This is awesome!
I wish I wasn't this sleep deprived so I could appreciate it more, though.

flatgub says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:38am

This is amazing.
it really me of ascii sector, which i love dearly.
Great work!

DaleP says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:38am

Good looking and well executed Elite-like game. Impressive for 48hrs. I'm not sure that only having one life added anything to the game, but then again, I still kept playing it more after each time I died to see how far I could progress.

Miltage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:15am

I really love the aesthetic of this game. You did a superb job, congrats.

sgehlich says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:23pm

I was able to play the game once, but after reloading it doesn't work anymore :( Console says "unable to load http://rezoner.net/labs/jamesonthepilot/assets/audio/ambient3.ogg"

Would love to play it again, I really liked the concept!

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Nice game. It looks really solid and complex.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14pm

This is so good! Such a huge amount of depth for a LD entry.

- Stock market
- Ship upgrades
- Mining
- Pirates
- Bounty hunters
- Even a planet landing mechanic!

Sounds like the feature list for a AAA game. How the hell did you do this in 48 hrs?

I stumbled upon this game while searching for other space games since I made one too, and I realised you really thought about the gameplay here!

Can't praise this enough!

petermd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17pm

slick game

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Extremely well done. Very unique way of doing things that was executed well. Very open ended way of playering

Tonasz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Rezoner in his great as always shape! I was counting on you and you didn't disappoint :) Congratulation!

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21pm

This game is brilliant. I had a blast playing it and if I didn't have to rate so many other games I would still be playing it.

The aesthetic is absolutely gorgeous, the sound is a perfect fit, and the gameplay is deep and engaging.

Extremely well done. I'm amazed you did something this great in two days.

madmaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:22pm

I can't seem to get it to run in Chrome. Any pointers?

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:44pm

@madmaw: click on URL - hit F12 - switch to console - F5 to reload and copy paste what it says :)

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:19pm

When I docked on the red planet a pirate started attacking me. He couldn't do any damage but I could do damage to him. After a little while pirates started swarming me and respawning from the planet. I could farm money indefinitely.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:41pm

It took me a while to understand it but your game is awesome! :)
I can see there is so much work behind it... how did you manage to put everything together in less than 48hours? :D

Oh, what about the AI? How does it work?

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:29pm

@AlanZucconi:

It depends on how you look at 48h - it is actually equivalent 6 working days :)

The only hard part on AI was the autopilot that can take you to any destination successfully land on a planet and avoid collisions. Once you have that the rest is just a simple state-machine that is deciding what should be the next destination.

For each planet there are cached trading routes (where can I take the stock to earn on it) - these are randomly picked by traders who land on a planet.

Anything that lands on planet and has cargo automatically sells it.

Autopilot actions are more important than AI mission (that is to avoid collisions)

Piracy, mining, bounty-hunting, trading - it is everything similar action - what differs are just the destinations.

Then there are some little exceptions like - mining - is observing the asteroid for spawning anything - and then switch destination to the spawned thing. Observer if there is anything in cargo bay - if yes - switch destination to planet (autopilot will take authority over AI as soon as it gets in gravity range)

I know that's technically this is not very explanatory. But technically it is just a state-machine :)

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Oh my, need to take a nap. My linguistic skills are diminishing.

@CaptainKraft: yes I know - it happens - sometimes :| Also I should disable ability to shoot when you have landed.

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Hey great work ! I love space based games like that, with some Elite influence :) (isn't the name a reference btw ?)

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:19am

@ rezoner

This is a proper space roguelike! It takes some time to learn the mechanics, but I think is sooo deep! :p But only problem is that it's so easy to crash on planets! :\ I wasted so many ships this way!!!

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:51am

Thanks for playing my game Rezoner. I'm not sure if it was a compliment that you had to read the directions :-P

henrykun says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:13am

Awesome graphics, very well implemented and nice idea. A little bit difficul to play if you use a laptop :p but it's good.

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:53am

Very nice. Some of these trade routes were way too profitable though, and every time I right clicked in Chrome the context menu would pop up.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:33pm

I've mentioned this in my top 6 games on LD28 so far:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/17/my-top-six-ld28-games-so-far/

YsenGrimm says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Really fun game.

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Great game Rezoner! very good game, immersive atmosphere.

mcgraw says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Awesome game! Great work.

gingerBill says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01pm

This is one of the best games I seen yet! The graphics and artstyle are to die for; it is very fun to play; I absolutely love anything to do with space and gravity (not that being a physicist does anything)!

Stals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Awesome game. Remembered me of a Space Rangers game =)

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:27pm

So much polished in 48 hours, I am impressed. Mechanics are good and overall it is well done but I found a little bit frustrating that you only got one life. Landing on a planet was not an issue for me. Trying to make your first income was hard thought. Good job.

pLaw says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:05pm

This is awesome. Love it. My favorite so far. Very well executed!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Brilliant. Last time I couldn't stop playing Potato Lagoon and now I have a feeling I won't be able to stop playing this. So addictive

pusheax says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Love sound. Instructions made me realize how complex this is. Amazing how much can be done in 48 hours.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Nice graphics and the audio works well to set the mood. :)

drludos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Excellent game, simple to play, but rich possibilities. I'm amazed you achieved to build a (polished) sandbox game in 48h!
Congrats :)!

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Wow, this is one of the best LD games I've seen. I like how there are NPCs, how you can mine rock or become a pirate, and how there is an entire upgrade system. Stupendous job :D

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:57pm

I didn't like that much the controls, but the game as a whole is nuts. Great job.

feiss says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Amazing, I can't believe it. Gentlemen, we have a winner.

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Really dug this one. Great job on all fronts. Tutorial was really useful. Took a bit to get used to controls but the landing on planets mechanic made the initial cumbersome feel totally worth it. Excellent!

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:17am

Really nice game! The mechanics and features are really addictive, and the whole thing seems very polished. Had to stop myself before I sunk a load of hours into it. Really good job.

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:26am

Nice game! Loved the AI (they carried good selling resources, which helped to find some traderoutes for myself^^)

The combat-system isn't too great, since I never managed to evade enemy shots. My fights ended up with whoever had the better ship winning. But well... maybe that's just how it goes :)

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:32pm

I like the game mechanics!!

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Awesome space game! I like the deep mood of this game, and I'm pretty impressed with the content you put in a such little amount of time! Neat graphics and sfxs, excellent job! :D

Joror says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Nice complete concept - especially liked the landing mechanic.

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:31pm

very good job

Madball says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Warning! Epicness limit exceeded!
Really fun game. I was playing it for about an hour. It has a plenty of possibilities. AI? Pirate planets? Medical supplies those don't heal but cost a plenty? That's how do you make an epic game.

Mining seems poor. I didn't mine a lot, but those four pieces of stone don't make me want to mine. Do I get better goods from them as I progress? I should get, otherwise it's unprofitable.
Also, I would like to see more information about ships. They have more stats than speed and amount of slots.
What is space for? Slow motion? Then I don't want it to disable when I right-click.

I hope that you'll continue working on it. I expect you to make mining, trading and fighting equally profitable. Like, you get rare minerals from mining, you get a bounty when fighting pirates and some other cool stuff when being a pirate.

xhunterko says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Very nice. A little confused how it worked with the theme until I tried to mine more then one ore. Coulda told me about that though. Nice idea!

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:10pm

The controls were a little odd at first, but I got used to them pretty quickly. Beautiful game!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:07am

Awesome game yet again Rezoner!
I love the graphics! They're amazing! The feel and gameplay of it is awesome too :)

I'd love it if you could check out my game ;)

GravityScore says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Awesome!

Threef says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Great work!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:10pm

This looks and controls great. Very in depth game. I couldn't find asteroids for a while though so did a lot of floating around.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:10am

Wow, that's ambitious. I have a soft spot for these sorts of games... I'd love to see this sort of minimal version as a mobile game, myself.

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:49am

Amazing game. 'nuff said

Muciojad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Amazingamazingamazingamazing.
Polak potrafi, tyle powiem ;)
Mam szczera nadzieje ze wygrasz.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I love all the options for stuff to do. I found it too difficult to live the life of a pirate, and very difficult to navigate, but a lot of fun none the less. I think it would have in some ways been better without any mouse input. There's a lot of potential to this one, good work.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:08am

One heck of a fun game. My favorite by far.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:24am

beautiful. that's all I can say. Love your 'Behind the Scenes' blog. One thing in specific, the way the ship lands on the planet is very cool.

Hard to believe you manage to produce such a polished game in 48 hours. Keep up the great work.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:24am

:-) buy and sell !

madflame991 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:55am

Space exploration at its best! It is somewhat amazing that you managed to create such a fun and complex space game in just 48h. Everything in your game is so polished and balanced and I liked the reference to Captain Jameson. Good job and keep up the good work!

daredevildave says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:44am

Love it.

Love the Elite references, but also you've given the docking it's own twist with the planet landing mechanic. (See also, Escape Velocity)

Stylishly designed so it looks great.

An impressive accomplishment for 48h.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:37am

This is really, really engaging and awesome. I was hooked on to it for so long. Needed saves so badly, but then again, one life, I guess. This concept can be expanded into something very big and story based!

OneDee says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Really fun!

yosh says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:15pm

This game is huge! (universe etc.)
Not sure I see the direct link with the theme though.
All my congratulations ;)

Noxy says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:36pm

One of my favorites so far, very addictive!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:28pm

This is remarkable! Astonishing work for 48hrs. Well done indeed!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Great art style and a nice little game.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Five stars to a fellow SMBC fan.

ovenchips says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:58pm

A classy entry from a pro. Well done!

embero says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:30pm

One word: Awesome

Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:42am

Great concept, really enjoyable!

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:41am

Very nice Elite clone. Well done. Graphics and sounds are also very cool.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Huge potential =D I had some bugs (my spaceship were sometime unable to take collectables) but this is a really complete game (and whicj suits the theme!)
Possible update that would be great : better sound and maybe multiplayer? =)

Husky says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:33am

Love the mini map, really cool.
Good job!

loxo says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Very polished game. It's fun to play and good looking. Only with the stars seems something wrong. When the ship is moved, the stars pile up on the border of the screen.

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Excellent!

Managore says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:22am

This is a truly wonderful game! I'd love to see the source!

01101101 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:49am

Really cool game, amazing job man! Can't wait to see more progress on it! Where is the source though? Can't find it on your GitHub and I'd love to see what language and framework (if any) you used...

rezoner says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:02pm

It is javascript - hence the source is available through any browser. Here is some unconcatenated source tho http://rezoner.net/labs/jamesonthepilot/script/

Some dates are past LD as I were adding tutorial and fixing crash bugs.

Beavl says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Wow! Your games are getting better and better, man. This one is really impressive (and fun). Cheers!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Awesome!

Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:34pm

This entry really blew me away. Hard to believe so much could be made in just 48 hours. Very good entry Rez will be disappointed if its not in the top 20! 5 stars well done

Jan 3, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Wow! Man your games rock! This is an amazing entry!
I've also checked QbQbQb - a killer! Hotline Trail - too!
Not to mention the music in all of them... Overall "speechless"!

FrederickK says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:49am

Man, wow, what a surprising deep game! o_0
Really not sure what to say, it's a really wonderful jam game, maybe didn't fit the theme so well?
Besides that, very amazing job!

Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Loved it but I felt like it was a bit unforgiving at times.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]