December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Power Core Defense

by jadams - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're being overrun with giant red ant-like creatures. Hold out as long as you can by building towers to shoot at them. Towers are powered by power cores. And guess what. You only get one!

This means that you can only power one tower at a time. Power is required to do anything: building, shooting, upgrading. As soon as you select a different tower or try to build a new tower the other towers no longer get any power and stop functioning.

The evil ant creatures continue to spawn indefinitely in waves in slowly increasing numbers. Survive as long as you can to get the highest score!

Controls:

> It's all mouse. So you're going to need a mouse.
> You can only build on the lighter blue squares, and towers require a 2x2 space.
> Clicking and holding down the mouse places a tower. Releasing the mouse before this is over loses the progress. This takes power.
> Once a tower has been placed, it then occupies the squares on the map. It then needs to activate before it can fire. This takes power.
> Activated towers will shoot at things in range. This takes power.
> Clicking on a different tower switches power to the clicked tower.
> Towers can be upgraded by pressing the buttons on the lower right portion of the screen. Upgrading takes time and, of course, power.
> Each red ant-thing gives points, and you earn interest on these points based on the health of the core.
> The core is that yellow thing that the red things are trying to get to and damage. When it is destroyed it's game over.

Notes:

Update : 18/12/13 : Fixed bug in tower rendering in some browsers. Should now run in all major browsers.

If I get chance I'll add a better (more visual) tutorial on the website soon. Rather than these notes I'm typing out at the deadline.

I was looking at getting an online leaderboard set up but there just wasn't time. I'd appreciate seeing your scores in the comments.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#386Theme3.10
#455Innovation2.97
#590Overall2.90
#603Fun2.71
#674Graphics2.58
#758Humor1.56
#775Audio1.33
#835Mood2.23

Comments

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Cool game you've got there. It is very challenging, but I managed quite well even with only a touchpad. Great job!

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Too hard gameplay! But idea is cool

Jojo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Score: 2433 on the second level.
Nice game, but I think it would've been better if the towers could attack multiple enemies at once. Now there isn't much strategy, as long as a tower is max upgraded, it does the same amount of damage no matter what tower you choose, so you can just select the same tower the whole time.

kidder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Neat variation on the tower defense genre.

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:53pm

This is stuck on the Loading Screen for me (Safari on Mac)

bach says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Quite challenging! But I like the idea of the power core "switch", gives a nice little twist to what I expected at first.

Katamori says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:32pm

A little bit hard, but definitely enjoyable.

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:31am

Nice, I got up to 328. It's an interesting idea, but super difficult.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:02am

This was very interesting. I liked how it is pretty easy to pick up, but you have to be quite strategic with prioritising your time if you actually want to do well. In the end, time was the biggest resource, so using any free time was very important. Awesome game.

alexc says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:08am

Crashes in Firefox Win 8 64-bit with the JS error:

> IndexSizeError: Index or size is negative or greater than the allowed amount @ http://jadams.me.uk/games/LD28/js/tower.js:258

This happens right after I make a tower. Runs fine in Chrome.

jadams says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Thanks for the comments everyone. I'll make sure to rate your games in return.

As for the crashes and other issues, the first thing I can say is please try it in Chrome for now. I'll investigate and try to fix problems in other browsers.

jadams says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Should be fixed now. I've tested it in all major browsers on windows and it appears to work.

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:52pm

nice concept and very good execution but very hard imo

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:58pm

I think this game is too hard.

atombrot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Hahaha, I suck at tower defense ;) Greate twist to the usual TDs and nice fit for the theme... I'm not sure if the ants spawn purely random, but if you would make spawn patterns, you could make the game easier first and then increase the difficulty. It's not really for me, but still I felt challenged to try again, when I lost ;)

Jeremias says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Interesting concept. Unfortunately, there are too many ants :D I would change, that upgrading needs power, because this is the main issue I had: if I start upgrading, the ants run through and I loose.

wbwelcomeback says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Thanks for fixing. Nice concept :)

Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:40am

Great idea for the tower building thing

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]