December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Steve

by Almax27 - Jam Entry

"You only get one warning". The boss' words ring in your head.

Called into the office for a scolding, Unit 73 finds himself in need of a friend...

-----------

We had a bit of a false start and decided to focus on one polished level rather than rushing content. You only get one level! For now... working on a second :P

-----------

Made by Admiral Fancy Pants
A.K.A: Aaron Baumbach and Luke Blick

-----------

Art:
Hand drawn, scanned, and coloured in Photoshop.

Code:
Unity 4.3s 2D pipeline, C#.

-----------

Lessons learnt:
* It's too easy to waste time on silly little mechanics like wandering bots
* Photoshop's a bitch
* Making sounds in bfxr is awesome fun
* Photoshop's a bitch
* How to make a game 100x more fun: find the right 'pew pew' sound for your gun
* Photoshop's a bitch

-----------

Controls:

WSAD - movement
Shift - look around
Space/Left Click - action
Escape - skip dialogue thread / abort hack

-----------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#51Graphics(Jam)4.28
#93Humor(Jam)3.22
#201Overall(Jam)3.23
#212Audio(Jam)3.05
#214Mood(Jam)3.03
#310Fun(Jam)2.75
#370Innovation(Jam)2.60
#401Theme(Jam)2.36

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:14am

good idea, but i dont get some fun. gj anyway

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:44am

amazing job, i did end up spending ages though trying to see if it's possible to gun down that boss man after i got that big robot!?! fun game and technically awesome for 48hrs!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:07am

Thanks! We had all the assets for another level, but wanted to try and polish what we had instead of cramming in content :D

The boss was going to explode, that's why he moves after you visit the server room, but alas.

Just uploading the source now ;)

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:42am

nice one - too bad I can't kill the boss >:-)

LukuluK says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Gg for the arts and the mood ! I would have liked more gameplay with it, but at least it feels clean !

I feel so sad that I couldn't kill the boss !

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Nice game you got here. To bad it is short. I would loved it more if I could kill the boss.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Beautiful artwork. Feel like the bots could have died in a more glamourous way than vanisning.
It's obvious that this is unfinished, but I would love to play a more complete version :)

Dyn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Great job! Game is really good. Waiting for another level to play =)

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:32am

I really enjoy the plot. Steeve's reactions are fun, and the final drawing just give me the will to play to its adventures as a free robot.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Fun graphics!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Got stuck after the thief escaped and the guards were called... And I really wanted to start shooting after reading about your "pew pew" sound :)))
Anyway, nice graphics and humor! Good job!

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Awesome arts! :)

Almax27 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Thanks for feedback guys, we're currently working on level 2 and fleshing out your 'options' in level 1 hehe, check back in a few days!

@Denis Chakarov
Try having a look at the the centre of the big flashing light :P

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Nice art ! I can't kill the boss either :P

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Nice art, but I didn't understood what I needed to do.

Infin8 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Interesting, but it doesn't exactly have gameplay though.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Nice game! But too short! And I don't have a QWERTY keyboard. :(

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:49pm

I would really like to see a Post-Compo continuing with the story. Overall, this was really fun and entertaining. It was really polished. Great job!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:53pm

A pretty good game with a quirky story. Would like more levels!

OddballDave says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Great graphics and sound. Was a little short, but not surprising considering the time restraint. Good work.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Cheers guys

@Benoît Freslon - I'll add arrow key support in the upcoming 'post' version, thanks for the heads up :D

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Awesome graphics. Not very much game play though, but good writing.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:43pm

I like the art.

dudsen says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Great potential, and cool character designs! And yes, I DID try to kill the boss with the gunner robot ^^

Shigor says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:45pm

This has a lot potential, too bad it's so short...

I'd consider making this a bit bigger game on your place. I like Steve :)

OneDee says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:09am

haha!

Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Very short, and I kind of wish there were more of a challenge to it, but all that can be put down to the time limit. The graphics are absolutely brilliant and lovable, five stars on that. The writing is very funny, and Steve is an excellent hero. I like the hacking.

By all means keep making games. This is great.

Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:15am

Forgot to mention: excellent Simpsons reference in the start screen.

lowcade says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:28am

Beautiful graphics and style. I'm a fan of robots. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]