December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rush Delivery

by icedmetal57 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare so I wasn't sure what I was going to be facing. That being said... here's Rush Delivery.

In Rush Delivery the goal is to delivery a donor heart for a transplant to a nearby hospital in a city crowded with people.

Move - WASD
Brake - Spacebar
Honk Horn - H

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#164Humor3.17
#370Fun3.04
#517Audio2.46
#611Mood2.61
#633Theme2.62
#773Innovation2.46
#779Overall2.65
#859Graphics2.15
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54am

Haha, loved it! On my fifth playthrough I got in a very frustrating lock between two cars: http://i.imgur.com/q81CnQV.png But I finally got my casualties down to one life once I got a hang for the horn and the brakes. I was surprised that the controls are actually fairly deep. 5/5 for fun.

icedmetal57 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:27am

Awesome! Yeah the controls and handling of the truck were one of those things I spent the most time on, as well as the first thing I worked on. Glad you liked it!

Hemuuuli says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:49am

That was fun! I only noticed horn in the second playthrough so first was quite tough. Monks everywhere surrounding me!

ghosrath says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:10am

Loved it! Had some trouble with the controls at first, but once you get the hang of it it really is a fun game.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:29am

We have had a doozy of a day. Uh, there we were, mindin' our own business... when all of a sudden, out of nowhere, these kids started killin' themselves all over.
I tried so hard not to kill those crazy monks, but, alas, they had other plans.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:38am

First entry that made me play several times in a row to complete it flawlessly, good!
I only wish graphics were a bit better, other cars behaviour more... erhm... car-ish and horn had some kind of limitation (right now it's just spamming).

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:51am

I think there should be an arrow pointing to the destination. On my last playthrough, 4 civilians surrounded me and I can't move. It was quite funny though.

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30am

Grand Theft Ambulance. ;)

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:13am

Cool game, took me a few tries but at last I beat it without any casualties. The horn-honking mechanic was a nice and clever twist.

For some constructive criticism, I think the 3/4 perspective is a little disorienting, even though you solved being behind tall buildings by making them translucent. I think would have preferred a pure top-down perspective.

Overall, a fun little game and good job! :)

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Good job on finishing this game. I have to say I didn't enjoy it as much as the other commenters.

GingerMess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:25pm

I love the end screen, and to answer it: it felt great. :)

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:50pm

I killed so many people before I learned to use my horn! I love the jaywalker and car behaviors. Really funny moments.

ViliX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:45pm

It needs a bit more polishing, but grat game. 5/5 for Humor (it was a great idea)

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:03am

I had a lot of fun playing this game. Really loved the honk mechanic! But try to make a bit more car sprites next time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]