December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The One Ship

by tiffi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A little story driven spaceship crawler.

You need only about 3-5 minutes to finish the game.

Controls

W/A/S/D + mouse

Edit:
Fixed the position of the text, should now be easier to read while killing enemys

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#164Humor3.17
#213Mood3.23
#320Fun3.14
#399Graphics3.11
#452Overall3.06
#602Audio2.29
#805Theme2.30
#821Innovation2.35

Comments

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:03am

engaging and funny shooter on board a spaceship.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:20am

Decent game, but it can get tedious.

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:20am

Not bad I had some issues playing on a laptop, default window size was to big and couldn't be re-sized meaning I couldn't see some of the text. also playing with a touchpad was extremely difficult. Not bad though good job.

lucars83 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:25am

Enjoyable

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:25am

That intro gave me brain cramps. #_#

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26am

really cool fog of war effect. really neat. it was hard to tell i was getting hurt though. a tower defence game with objectives.

allinlabs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:48am

I was more interested in the dialogue between the player and the IA but those ***** fucking robots kept spawning behind by back

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:10am

Hahaha, very nice game :)

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58am

Nice engaging little game. Pity the bots suffered from 3 stooges syndrome. Very nice lighting effects. Great work.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59am

I had a blast ;)

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:32am

Nice lighting and particle effects. The story was a nice touch.

30dogs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:34am

Nice lighting and sfx. Shooting up and down was awkward.
I liked how the light guided you to your objective, but it would have been nice to see the theme tied more into the mechanics.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Smells like FTL to me... But the game is quite good.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Yeah, it's fun

foumart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:43pm

The performance is great. Had troubles aiming and reading at the same time (maybe use a better font/color), also the vertical aiming was difficult. I found it strange at first that the character was not moveable, I spent a minute or two just shooting untill realized that there are new objectives. The boss battle was cool too. Good job.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:03pm

I couldn't really read the text at the bottom while shooting killerbots. You might consider placing it somewhere near the character where the action is.
It's very irritating that I shoot out of the front of the barrel so I can shoot freely to the left and right but I can't shoot straight up and down the center of my character.
The shooting sound get's really annoying after some time. You might want to add more sounds there and alternate between them.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:23pm

This is really great!
The shadows work really great and set a nice mood. The bossfight could be a bit harder in my opinion, but it doesn't hurt the experience.
It was a bit hard to keep the enemies away, while reading the story, but it was really fun to play through.
Great work!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Somehow I didn't see the theme here. And it's always better to interrupt action for while when player has to read something ;-) Anyway, nice job with making the atmosphere here.

Masadow says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Hard to read everything. However, great game, I loved the light effects :)

Husky says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:21am

Amazing lighting effect and particle!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]