December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Earth

by oskardevelopment - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You Only Get One Earth is a Ludum Dare 28 Project that tries to unite strategy and the classical climate question - as to make the player think and make their own opinions in regards of the climate and civilization.

Also general attempts to make sure the potatoes are not forgotten in this cold world of ours.

Best regards and have fun! // Oskar

Edit: As of popular requests for how to move:

1, Click with mouse on the unit you wish to move.

2, Either click with the right mouse button on the center of the tile you want to move to,

3, Or use W, E (Up), A (Left), D (Right), Z, X (Down) for movement.

Numpad, and numbers, can be used to move screen, alternatively click on the minimap.

Alt+Q for quitting the game.

Esc or F11 to switch between fullscreen and Windowed mode.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#414Mood2.89
#414Overall3.11
#424Fun2.96
#499Innovation2.92
#530Theme2.81
#546Humor2.13
#654Audio2.11
#772Graphics2.36

Comments

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Ow wow, this is pretty advanced for 48 hours. Nice work!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Its to Civilisation what Notch's Minicraft is to Minecraft :)

It was intuitive and balanced, and the simple graphics worked really well.

Couldn't play it with java 1.5 when I tried earlier; you can repackage for others perhaps? That is not against the rules.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57pm

How can I move my units through the map?
Tried to point and click, wasd, arrow keys, nothing worked. Also alt + Q didn't work so perhaps the game is having a problem to recognize my keyboard.

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57pm

I really like this game. Found it a little difficult in the beginning because I spawned near no forests, but I started a new game and same the excellence :p

Graphics and sound couldn't been a little better, but overall a great job for 48 hours.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Thanks everyone! Will try to do my best to rate your games and give them good feedback! :)

joserodolfofreitas, both WASD and clicking should work - it must have been a issue with the game not thinking you had it in focus or something? Not sure what to make out of it.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:22pm

That's very unfortunate oskar, your concept seems very compelling. I wish I could play it.

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Moving the units was also odd to me... I believe you need to wait one turn, before you can move them the first time...

Kvisle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Some nice core concepts here. I hope you work more on it.

A bit clunky to move around - one have to right click in the middle of the cell, and if there's text rendered on top of it (like in the bottom of the screen) it wont work.

Felt that my people died too fast (The counter clearly states 8 turns before death, but it's closer to 3) - more than often I was unable to find usable resources for that unit - took a while before I found forest at all.

It would be nice if the turn ended automatically when one's out of things to move, just to add some more flow to the game. Also if it did like in Civilization, where it would select a unit for you - and you'd have to do is move the unit.

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Couldn't move my units =( JDK 7u45, OSX 10.9

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Seems like a great start to what could be a very fun game.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Some instructions for controls would be nice.

dcampos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55pm

It took me a while to figure out how to move my units, but after that I could manage them smoothly.

OneDee says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:53am

Crazy for a short jam game. NIce work

foumart says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:59pm

This is an awesome game, specially because of the ending message! Reminds me of the fate of RapaNui - i left with a single scientist at the end :) I like how you ignored the oil and the sand. Could use a smaller map.

occash says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Nice strategy game! )))
I have idea in my game like yours))))

Kotucz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Nice game! The UI could use some improvements. I noticed there are messages on the black screen just before end of the game :-)

pele says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:27am

The map was a bit tough to move around (kept trying to scroll it with arrows and it wouldn't work). Overall the GUI made it very hard to micromanage but the concept is great. It took me a while to figure out that units have a lifespan, but after I realized that, the game really made sense. Pretty decent game overall! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]