December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Chance One Life

by kovacsmarcell99 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A jump and run platformer like game! Developed in C++

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#673Audio2.05
#727Humor1.71
#909Theme2.00
#914Mood1.79
#957Fun1.96
#980Graphics1.52
#989Overall2.00
#998Innovation1.48
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Bw2801 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:47pm

How do I jump?

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Man, if I had to run down an endless field of spikes, I wouldn't be nearly as excited to be there as that yellow dude.

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Unfortunately I die even if I manage to jump over spikes

Anton_D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:55pm

I seemed to collide with the elements even when i was far away, I also think that you should've added more types of obstacles because it gets a little repetitive after a while. Other than that, solid game.

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:59pm

would have been nice to have the controls posted somewhere. took me a few tries to figure out it was arrow keys. The spacing of obstacles could have been varied a bit to make it more interesting.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Eh, it got repetitive really quickly (though mine kinda does as well...). It needs more enemies than spikes, and also some variable jump height (even when up is tapped for a short time, you jump for the full jump height...). I guess it has potential to become a solid infinite runner, but as it stands, it just needs a bit more work...

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Cool game, what bothers me is that it felt a bit unresponsible maybe the jump is too linear. Also, got a bit boring after doing the same with no changes in anything. Other than that, good game, nice music :D

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05pm

the game is ok. Some nice screen effects or a score when you die would have been great. But i guess its not so good now. The graphics were okay. They could have been better. But for this case they was ok

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05pm

It says this (translated to english): One Chance One Life.exe not a valid Win32 application.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:25pm

It's a nice start, I was hoping for more to come, still I managed to die xD

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Congrats on finishing the game. :)

MrBlade says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Nice game, okay graphics, great music. A little bit dull and the spikes come in a pattern, so once you learn that, it's a little bit too easy. Keep it up!

Raphy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Interesting and fun concept, but it's kindda repetitive and not very original. Nice work doing it completely in C++ though !

Btw, the yellow hero looks amazing :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]