December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGOSec

by aritzh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first entry.

A simple game in which you have to click the lit square within ONE second. Then another ONE lights up, and then another... for ONE minute.

There are also upgrades (green squares), that give you ONE extra second, both for each square, and for the game itself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#158Fun3.43
#295Audio2.90
#366Overall3.17
#431Theme3.00
#511Innovation2.90
#937Graphics1.90
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:37pm

I liked the concept, the game is fun. I like how it gets frenetic. It could give a nice point/click game for a mobile platform, especially if you can change the game clothes and add a different meaning for the abstract concept.
Nice job on getting it done.

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Yes good concept, I could have done without the one minute finish timer the finish was really abrupt. also the greens may be to close together. Buy the end of the game I had a good 10 seconds stored up it seamed. As said would make a great mobile app for wasting time.

aritzh says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:12pm

I was plannning on porting it to android, since it's the only mobile platform I know well, but I didn't have time to do it for the compo, nor will I have in the following days, but I will definitely do it, as wekk asmaking it less abstract. Thanks for the feedback

Cthulhu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15pm

The game does not close on Linux but I like the gameplay

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:11pm

This would be great on a smartphone or tablet. Love the soundtrack

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:15pm

This game was surprisingly fun. It's incredibly hard (which is good) but once you manage to get the first upgrade it gets so much easier, which destroys part of the fun, imo. Great game nonetheless.

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Addictive. I can see myself playing this a lot on mobile :D

erebusman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29am

Good job!

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:33pm

I agree with the comments about putting it on mobile. The upgrade should be limited to just a few turns. As was said, once you have a few, the game is completely trivial. Nicely done!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:44pm

This is my favourite entry so far. Super fun to play. I can feel my micro getting stronger by the second. Maybe this game can help me to finally get out of the gold league in sc2. The possibilities are endless. You should make a mobile version fo sho.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:49pm

best score 2260 !
Nice work on this upgraded bar, I like the ways you build it while playing.
Maybe you could add some difficulty curve by increasing the maxmum radius of next square spawning zone. So in the beginning you will start with easy moves ( 3-4 squares distance ) to finally reach more challenging distances.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Fun and challenging!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Frantic fun. And like others have said definitely would be great with touch controls.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]