December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Old MacDonald vs Zombies

by rogueNoodle - Jam Entry

*** BUG NOTICE ***

For some reason, sometimes zombies won't appear at the start of a game - if nothing starts popping out of the ground when you're playing, please reload the page. Sorry about that!

********************

Old MacDonald had a farm. And on that farm he had a cow. Also, zombies.

Help Old MacDonald keep his cow happy by cleaning up after her, and in return, she'll be his best friend AND best defense against the growing zombie horde.

It's a story about friendship, cooperation and mutual respect. Also, zombies.

--------------------

HOW TO PLAY

--------------------

- You are Old MacDonald: move around the field using the ARROW KEYS

- While avoiding zombies, CLEAN UP after your cow. This will make her happy (you'll see a HEART over her head)

- When she's happy, whistle using the SPACEBAR and she'll run across the field to meet you, mowing down any zombies in her path

- And of course, score a lot of points

--------------------

If the music gets a little grating, you can toggle it on and off with the 'M'. The same can be done for the sound fx using the 'S' key.

Hoping to upload some downloadable builds (including a completely untested Linux version) in the near future (most likely over the weekend).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#8Fun(Jam)4.08
#11Humor(Jam)4.03
#13Overall(Jam)4.09
#24Audio(Jam)3.90
#27Graphics(Jam)4.42
#32Innovation(Jam)3.72
#47Mood(Jam)3.75
#103Theme(Jam)3.33

Comments

x70x says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:25am

Good fun and great art.
Can't imagine how that field must've smelled with the sweet combo of rotting corpses and cow patties...ugh.

DanqueDynasty says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01am

Awesome Job!

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Really well designed game! Many simple things combined into a very satisfying little game. :) Great job!

bFusion says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:28pm

A ridiculous amount of fun!

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:17pm

"A ridiculous amount of fun!" -- this

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:36pm

What a cool idea! Love this kind of concept very much. Awesome pixel arts! I love this game! Good job!

nyrrrr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:11pm

5/5 in all categories. You deserve it well :)
Really awesome :)

q7204k says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Nice and simple! I like it =)

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:27pm

my score: 2743
It feels like a hardcore version of Frogger because the zombies move only from left to right :D

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:30pm

I love this, one of favourite entries so far so much fun! Rated highly. :)

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Simple, yet incredibly satisfying game! Great job :D

Tyu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I really like this game! It's both fun to play, fun to watch, and the sound's very cool.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Very addictive and fun. One of my favourites entries so far!

d__adee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:49pm

That was really fun and really polished! :D
The game play is pretty nice too!

pereubu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Funny idea, wunna see more :3

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:58pm

This is a nice, polished little game overall. The art style is very pleasant. I just wondered how the theme was used here (you only get one life ?). And the music feels too repetitive, mostly because you used a very well known theme (hiya hiya ho !).
This was a good experience overall !

Cheers,
nathan

Dyn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Good job! Wery funny game.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Wow! its proposal is extremely creative (nn) great job and cow dash!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Great job!
The artwork is pretty impressive for a jam, and I really like the mechanics.

I think the combo and scoring system could be a little clearer, but that didn't keep from playing a good 9 or 10 rounds.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:44pm

16408 :D Laughed out loud at this entry, the whole concept is absolutely bonkers, loved it. The art and music were great. One of the funniest entries yet.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:18pm

The pixel art and the music are cute, and I like how the music changes with the game, really well done on that part. On the overall the game is kinda fun to play, the game mechanics are pretty clever too. Good job! I enjoyed playing this cute game! :)

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Really cool! Liked the gameplay mechanic, thought it was really interesting. It got a bit out of hand with the zombies though, so I died quite often. Really nice work!

Solluxx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Super fun and polished. One of the better entries I have played. Great job rogue :) (oh and the cow is really really adorable)

RealMSHB says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:13pm

this is so fun

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:27pm

This one was really fun. Simple, clean and polished. Nice job :D

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Although it's not a hard challenge (and thus it might get boring quickly), it was a fun experience and looks charming. GJ!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Superb entry! The custom piano roll really makes this, along with the fab pixel art and animation. The difficult ramp was just right and it was satisfying trying to line up multiple kills. Really polished and fun to play, thanks!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Perfect graphics, you are a pro. The game fits the theme great and lots of fun, this is a keeper!

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Awesome!! How the hell did you even come up with an idea like this? My highscore was 25726.

It would do wonders with some other zombie types, maybe different interactions for the cow? Dunno, but I'd like to see this idea expanded further.

All my stars are belong to you.

somepx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Great entry! I liked everything about this game, an amazing job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33pm

I would pay to play this game! Best game I've reviewed so far. Awesome graphics. You should definitely sell this on mobile.

mikale says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:58pm

So fun :)

jerombd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Well done and simple (a bit repetitive), but still fun.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:12am

Great game! Didn't see how it fit the theme though.

Strangelander says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Too fun. Great pixel graphics and blood!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Really fun game! made me laugh and i had a good time with it!

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Super cool game! I loved playing it, very well polished.

strong99 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Very funny game! Loved it. Nothing to add there :)

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:13pm

I'm usually not a fan of zombie games these days, but for this one I'll make a big exception! It's a blast to play, the graphics are dynamite, and the choice for use of the theme is hilarious! One of the best games I've tried so far, hands down!

almightysuit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:05am

My highest rated game so far! Simple but very effective, loved the music, the art, and the concept. Well done Chris!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:30am

Great entry. Love the art, music, presentation, and cow poop. Very funny and also very fun gameplay. Fun game, would poop scoop again!

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:10am

Fun, awesome looking game. Loved the soundtrack! SUCH a weird concept haha.

Snuti says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Brilliant style, and that cow was too cute!
Music fitted really nicely with the game and very challenging when I had too many zombies on screen. Well done and good job :D

nka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Impressive! Reminds me of my childhood in a country lol. Very well done.

dekart says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:01pm

I love it, really fun and interesting to play :)

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:08am

I'll admit, this is the first game I've ever played about cleaning up cow poop. My best score was 3598.

Erkberg says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:50pm

An unusual gameplay mechanic combined with really nice graphics and audio make for a very fun little gaming experience. Very good job!

Husky says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:05am

Simple but fun!
A very enjoyable game, nice job! :D

Dikkop says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Good job! The cow is awesome!

s73ph4n says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:29pm

I really enjoyed this one. I like the way of killing the zombies. Very original. Good luck

Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Amazing game. Really like the take on theme. Cows VS Zombies lol. 5 stars guys what else can I say great Jam.

GarethIW says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:31pm

I'm pretty sick of zombie games, but this was incredible. Well done.

finefin says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:47pm

hah! I love the graphics and gameplay! great job!

XenosNS says ...
Jan 15, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Very cute and cool cow calling mechanic. Great game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]