December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Static Room

by f7f5 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HTML5 / Javascript game

A simple 2D game with geometric graphics and a tune created in Otomata.

Rooms may rotate while you are not looking, but at least you'll get one static control room that you can always come back to.

Important: You need a browser with canvas support to play this game. It will not work on IE8.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#357Fun3.06
#438Audio2.64
#559Overall2.94
#610Innovation2.74
#659Mood2.53
#749Humor1.61
#933Theme1.94
#954Graphics1.83

Comments

majorcrampas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Solid game. Theme could be more present

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Oh man, this was awesome! I think you managed to make a very cool thing here. Then again, I am notoriously obsessed with symmetry, groups, and rotations. The procedurally generated music was also very cool, and is definitely something I will put in my tool box for later.

Theme use could have been better! You could have had multiple control rooms that were non-static, and then every room could have had exactly one door. Well, that's just my opinion.

Anyway: very fun!

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30pm

nice job, the music was very appropriate

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31pm

I loved the idea, but the graphics could've been better. Otherwise the music was great and the gameplay was good too :D

Arkazon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Nice idea - makes for a fun little game. My only gripe is with the enemies - a few times I entered a room only to die pretty much straight away. Not quite sure how the placement works on them, sometimes they seemed to stay where they were in the previous room, sometimes they didn't and sometimes new ones appeared as well.

grifdail says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Good Idea ! I love the game. I was a bit disapointed by the graphism at first but, after the first level, I found the idea realy good and interesting, and the execution great. Good job.

NuSan says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Realy good and suprising, using some old element (keys, switch) but with simple shapes make then more interesting, you have to search what each shape do. More levels and elements would be great. Keep up the good work !

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Nice simple game. I like the concept. The enemies make it a bit hard though. Maybe some variation could make it easier, e.g. with some static guns or lasers instead all the moveable enemies.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:24pm

The controls flow well, but having to just try random combinations with the switches is kinda annoying. Also, I know there's not a lot you can do in 48h, but some graphics with animation really do make a difference.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:04am

The controls are very fluid. Very solid.

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Simplistic Games are always the best, I loved it. Well Done.

nSun says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:22am

I had sound effects but no music. Thus the "toggle music" button seemed inappropriate. Unless it comes from my configuration (chrome browser)...

01rafael says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:51am

This game is like narcotic! ))
I like it!

Arcantic says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:53am

I recognized the music immediately from a previous contest's entry, http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?action=preview&uid=4155 . While you might not have stolen it, I can't help but feel you did. Other than that, I like the simpleness of the game

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:53am

okay...den

f7f5 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:59pm

@nSun - I'm sorry to hear that. There is music, and it should work in Chrome - I can hear it with Chome 31 in Linux. Try reloading (F5) if you don't hear any music. Maybe I should consider some sort of preloading in the future...

@Arcantic - Music generated with the same tool will always sound somewhat similar, unless the author takes the effort to configure the generator in a very original way, or to post-process the song (I obviously didn't). In this case it seems both I and Faelanx's author used http://www.earslap.com/projectslab/otomata . Anyway, if you load both games, you can hear that the tunes, even if they share the same instrument and have a similar structure, are definitely different,

@everyone: graphics are obvioulsy my weakest spot. I need to improve that before the next LD. In terms of gameplay, I feel I should have had enemies give the players some time to breathe and think a bit about the puzzle.

Thanks to everyone for their comments so far.

zatyka says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:31am

It definitely needs some polishing and more levels, but its a fun little foundation of a game.

RodRoy1 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Nice little game. Needs a little more veriaty, but enjoyable none the less. The theme dosent seem to be present though, but i may have just missed the point.

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Hey, thanks for the game, and congratulations on finishing your second LD!

When I played, I was a bit worried that "rooms would change without me seeing", but as far as I could tell, the rooms did not change unless I pressed a button in the control room. I think it would be interesting if the rooms did change outside of your control (in a fixed pattern), so that you had to learn the pattern of the rooms in the game.

I really liked in the first and the second level that picking up keys would increase the enemies in the rooms. On the third level, sometimes I met rooms with 2 enemies, even when I had 2 keys on me.

The music was a little bugged - pressing the buttons that change rooms would also make the music turn on and off.

All in all, the game needed more/longer levels to make the "maze" thing work, but I think you are in the right direction.

Cheers, and see you next LD!

Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:59pm

The graphics could have been better, but I liked the concept.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:58pm

I didn't hear any music, even clicking on the toggle music button...

But I completed it, good work, maybe a different background on each room could explain to the player the rotating effect ? I think at first I didn't understand what do the red squares.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:05am

Really cool take on the theme. I see a lot of potential for this type of game, I'd definitely encourage you to work on this more. Keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]